Legs Workout — Plus, my exerpience & advice on Creatine

Greetings, all. Today I’m posting the leg workout I did earlier this morning. I didn’t label it power-building like my other workouts, because I don’t start it off with a heavy compound, and don’t change up the amount of sets too often.

I use to start off with heavy squats, however, I’ve been doing squats in the 5-rep range for a year now. I want to start hitting higher rep range to build more muscle in my legs.

On top of the workout, I’d like to talk about one of the most popular supplements of all time; creatine.

Alright, let’s get it…

First off, let’s talk creatine, arguably the most popular supplement on the market. It had been around since the early 90s, but didn’t reach mainstream popularity until Sammy Sosa & Mark McGwire started after the home-run record, and McGwire was touting creatine as the reason for his success. Of course, McGwire accidentally said creatine when he meant anabolic steroids, but who doesn’t confuse the two?

At the time, I was in 9th grade and I remember kids on the football team taking it with their lunch. As I grew up, all my friends were into working out, and would often talk about creatine. The word then was that you HAD to drink a gallon of water every day, and if you didn’t, your kidneys would shut down and you’d instantly dry up like you drank from the false-Holy Grail. When I started working out at age 20, I eventually got on creatine, and sure enough, I was walking around with a milk jug filled with water. There’d literally be days where I was about to go to bed and see that I’d have about half a gallon left, and just start chugging. It was fucking obnoxious.

When I got back into working out 4 years ago, once again I went on creatine, and once again I forced myself to drink a gallon a day. However, I went off it, and soon after started on a weight gainer. I drank my normal amount of water, and realized half-way through the tub that it had 5g of creatine per scoop. Holy shit, I’d been drinking a normal amount of water, while on creatine, and my eye-balls didn’t shrivel up and then explode in a giant ball of flames? It was then I realized that the whole drinking a gallon of water was bullshit.

Go on any weight-lifting forum, and people are CONSTANTLY saying you need a gallon of water a day. It’s bullshit. Blanket statements like that are rampant in the world of health & fitness, and you need to ignore them all. My recommendation, which has worked just fine for me, is three times a day I drink enough water that when I go to the bathroom, it’s clear. I space it out, so this happens once every 3 hours or so. Give it a shot, and see if it works for you. Because drinking a steady gallon is just obnoxious. You piss all the damn time, and you can flush a lot of nutrients out of your body. Not drinking enough can cause cramps and other bad things.

As for what creatine to use, monohydrate is the standard, and damn good, but you can’t beat the powder form of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine. It’s stronger, more condensed, and you absorb a lot more. I see a lot more results in size & strength on this, without any bloating or water retention. I absolutely recommend you guys give it a shot.

Alright, on to the workout…

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of Cookies & Cream Muscle Milk, 5g Glutamine, 2g Kre-Alkalyn.

Legs & Traps

Squats – 130×12, 8, 10

Hack Squat – 180×8, 230×9, 12

Leg Curl – 100×8, 8, 7

Upright Cable Row – 80×12, 90×10, 9

Farmers Walk – Dumbell in each hand: 75, 90, 105

Calves Standing – 180×4 sets until failure, usually between 7-9 reps

Calf Extension Machine – 80×2 sets till failure, 140×2 sets till failure

Incline Walk – 20 minutes

Post-Workout: 50g of Whey Isolate, 5g of glutamine, and 2g of Kre-Alkalyn.

Leave a Reply

