Legs, Traps, and Forearms 2

 

 

 

cropped-arnold-squat21.jpg

Greetings, all.

I gotta say, I wasn’t really feeling the workout today. Every now and then, when the 6th day rolls around, I can tend to get that feeling of “Ah, what if I just hung out in bed and watched Tosh.0 instead?”. Of course, anytime I get that feeling I have to punish myself in some manner at that gym. It’s as if I’m telling myself;

“Oh? You wanna bitch out? That’s fine, and by fine, I mean suck it, punk, you’re gonna have to set a PR today.”

When ever you feel like you don’t want to hit the gym, provided it’s not due to an injury, just do it. Just get the fuck up, and do it. Why? Because you’ll never regret a workout. Ever. I don’t like squatting. I know, it’s sacrigue to say such a thing, but I’m just not a fan. I’d rather be benching, or doing bent-over rows, or dips. So, when it’s the second day of the week I’m squatting, and I wake up at 1am, knowing full well I gotta get up and squat, it can be tough to get up. But you do it. And every time I’m under that bar, I’m so damn glad I did it. You will too. Always remember, you never regret a workout.

Alright, now let’s get on with the show…

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g Glutamine, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

I don’t time my rest periods on leg day. When I squat, it’s never longer than 2 minutes, and everything else is between 30-60 seconds.

Now, before we get it, lemme just say. I’ve been working out for 4 years, but for the first 3 years and a few months, I was only working out in an apartment gym, which was nothing but a very simple Life Fitness machine. Also, I was doing Heavy Duty training, and only working out once every 4-5 days. I never squatted, deadlifted, and never used a freeweight.
When I finally joined a real gym, I was so bummed to find out I’d have to basically start over at zero, as very little of my machine strength carried over. So, it took a while before I quit being a bitch and started working out properly. Actually, it’s almost a year to the day. On November 1st, I started doing Stronglifts 5×5 [I’ll review the program sometime down the road]. It had me working out 3 days a week, with squats every workout, and a mixture of bench, deadlift, bent-over row, and overhead press.
Once May came around, needless to say, I was fucking SICK of squatting. So, I quit doing it for 4 months and stuck to leg pressing. I just recently quit being a punk and got back to squats.
The reason for this backstory was to explain why I’m 255lbs, but still pretty weak at squats. When I’m doing reps of 5, I can bust out 230lbs for 3 sets, but lately I’ve been shooting for higher reps to build up my legs. OK, enough bullshit, let’s get it…

Legs, Traps, Forearms

Squats – 135×8, 155×8, 185×8, 10, 13

I was only gonna do 4 sets, because I was feeling weak. So, because of that I had to force myself to get a PR. The most amount of reps I’d ever done at 185 was 10, so I told myself that because I was having bitch thoughts, I had to hit 12 reps. I actually ended up hitting 13, and was sucking wind like a total punk. Seriously, I was breathing so damn heavy I blew over the Smith Machine. But I got those 13 reps.

Hack Squats – 180×12, 10, 10

HammerStrength Shrugs – 270×8 for 3 sets, 360×9

Cable Upright Rows – 90×10, 8, 8, 7, 5

I was doing these with like 20 second rest-periods, as well as going to failure.

Sitting Leg Curl – 90×12, 9, 7

Standing Calves – 180×9 reps for 4 sets

Sitting Calves – 180×5 reps for 3 sets

Forearm Roller & Weight Collar Squeeze Superset – 10lb plate on the forearm roller, and around 10reps per arm on the squeeze deal. I did 3 sets.

Incline Walk – 20 minutes

Post-Workout: 20oz of Gatorade, 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk with 5g of Glutamine, and 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Alright guys, hope you have a damn good rest of the day. Tomorrow is my one day off, so you won’t get a workout report obviously, but I’ll cook up something. I also plan on posting a new video on my youtube channel. To find it, simply search for Fat Buff INC on youtube. Take care, buckshots.

Leave a Reply

