Project Mass – Day 1 – Strength Workout – Leg Day

tom-platz-squatGreetings, all.

Started a brand new program today, as I mentioned in the previous post, Project Mass, from bodybuilding.com. It’s a great program that’s 6 days a week, 3 days devoted to strength, and 3 days to hypertrophy. Exactly what I was looking for. You guys will be able to follow me through the whole program, and see how well it works for me.

Here are the goals I’m setting:
I’d like to put on at least 5lbs of muscle. I’ll get my measurements together for tomorrow’s post.
As far as strength:
Bench Press – 315lb single, 275 for 5 reps.
Rack-Pull/Deadlift – 400lbs.
Squat – 300lbs.
Bent-Over Row – 225lb for 5 reps.

It’s a 14 week program, and I think that’s a sufficient enough time to hit a good percentage of those goals.

Alright, let’s get it.

Today was a strength day, and it’s been a minute since I’ve dedicated full days to strength, so I kept the numbers a bit low, to get ready for the big time.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine. I’m out of Glutamine, need to re-up here soon.

All of my rest periods were 60 seconds.

Squat – 185×3, 3, 3, 3

Deadlift – 205×3, 3, 3, 3

Cable Leg Press – 310×3, 330×3, 3, 3

Sitting Leg Curl – 160×5, 5, 5, 5

Incline Walk – 20 minutes

Post-Workout: 24oz Gatorade, 2 scoops C&C Muscle Milk, 5g Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Yeah, a pretty boring workout on paper, I know. But that’s strength training. Now, I know the numbers are super low, but that’s just because it’s been a minute, and I’m getting back into the swing of things.

Alright, I’ll see you cats tomorrow for a strength push-day, a new youtube video, and a post on how people over complicate fitness. Till then, remember…

You’ll never regret a workout.

Leave a Reply

