Project Mass – Day 5 – Hypertrophy Push Day – Plus, People Bugging The Hell Out Of Me

Lee_Haney_bench_press
Lee Haney, 8x Mr. Olympia

Greetings, all.

Before we get to business, I need just a small favor. You see that facebook window to the right? There’s 9 likes, and it annoys me that it’s simply one away from 10. I never ask anyone to like, or comment, subscribe, or any of that, but if one of you cats would hit that stupid like button so it can be a 10, instead of a 9, your pal Caliber would appreciate it.

I don’t know if you guys get this often or not, but I sure do. Now, naturally, because it’s obvious we work out, we’re going to get people asking us for advice here and there. However, there’s one thing that most people never fail to annoy me with, especially women. It always goes like this:

“I’d like to start working out, but I don’t want to get all big, you know like you or a bodybuilder. I just want some size [guys say this]/tone up [women say this].”

Oh, well THANK GOD that you told me. If you hadn’t, I would have sent you into the gym with a nice 60 minute workout, and before you left you would have been signing multiple autographs because people would mistake you for Brock Lesnar. Yeah, you gotta be REAL careful if you don’t want to put on 50lbs of lean mass, because it’ll happen the second you touch a weight. I mean, you got all these liars saying that to get big, and put on quality muscle, you gotta train hard, train often, eat a ton, get your protein, get proper rest, and a bunch of other BS. The truth is, you hit the gym once, maybe twice a week, you know, unless it’s below 60 degrees out, then nuts to getting out of bed. Hell, you’ll probably grow even better.

Look, you are NOT going to put on size like me or a bodybuilder. It’s one of the damndest things to do, putting on size. Muscle is a precious, hard-fought-for material that you can’t develop a respectful amount of unless you absolutely bust and dedicate your ass to it 24/6, because you gotta have a cheat day.

Another thing, if you have someone who’s into working out, and you think you’d like to do it, PLEASE don’t bother them for help unless you absolutely mean it. There have been quite a few times where I come up with a special program, eat style, and all sorts of things for people who ask, only for them to simply say fuck it and quit doing it. They always have excuses, and it’s obnoxious as hell. There’s nothing more annoying to a fitness enthusiast than someone who only wants to role play for 4 weeks.

Now, I like to read. I especially like to read about bodybuilding and all other things concerning working out. Meaning I read Muscle & Fitness, Muscular Development, and FLEX. And one thing that NEVER fails is for people to look at a cover featuring Kai, Wolf, Heath, Coleman, or any other current bodybuilders and say “Gross! That’s sick! Who would ever want to look like that? That’s just steroids.”. Where the fuck do these people get off saying these things? Why is it that if you’re perceived as doing well, people got no problem talking gobs of shit? What if someone were reading People magazine, and on the cover was some super fat woman, to which I then said “Oh man, that’s gross. Look at that fat piece of crap. How disgusting.” I’d be considered the biggest asshole in the world! Yet these people have zero qualms with telling me just how they feel in regards to current bodybuilders. Well, lemme tell you guys something, I couldn’t careless about what you have to say, so shut the hell up, and leave me alone.

Alright, now let’s get it…

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Dumbell Bench Press – 70×10, 10, 10

I’ve never really done these before, because I suck at getting the dumbells up and I don’t want to hurt myself trying. But I got the flow down today, and all I can say is that I’m in love. These things wore my chest out with a deep stretch, and working my stabilizers over-time. My pecs were seriously zapped afterward. So, I highly suggest these. However, don’t shoot for heavy weight if you don’t have a partner, because you can easily hurt yourself with these bad-boys.

Hammer Strength Incline Press – 180×10, 10, 8, 7

Dumbell Press – 40×10, 10, 35×10, 10

Like I said, my chest was zapped, and I was insanely weak for all pressing moves afterward. I usually hoist up 50-60lb dumbells, and can even do 70, but I had to go down to freaking 35.

Side Lateral Raises – 20×10, 10, 15×10, 10

Cable Skull Crushers – 100×10, 10, 10, 10

Tricep Rope Pressdown – 90×8, 70×8, 8, 8

Incline Walk – 10 minutes

Post-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, same as pre-workout.

So far I absolutely love the program, and it’s only going to get better as the exercises, reps & sets will change on a pretty consistent basis, always keeping things fresh.

Alright, see you sexy cats tomorrow. As always, remember…

You’ll never regret a workout.

Leave a Reply

