The Program That Changed My Life

arnold-schwarzenegger-blueprint-trainerGreetings, all.

Christmas? No, it’s Buffmas here at Fat Buff INC. Since 24 Hour Fitness are a bunch of punks and closed today, I had no choice but to do my Wednesday & Thursday work outs together, yesterday. Check that bad boy out if you want to see the results. So, since I had no workout to report today, I thought I’d tell you guys about the program that changed my life.

Arnold Schwarzanegger’s BluePrint.

Like all beginners, I didn’t even know where to begin. I’ve been bodybuilding for 4 years now, but I really haven’t found out what works for me until the last 6 months. See, when I started bodybuilding, I was into Heavy Duty training, because I thought people were over-training. For years I’ve seen people in the gym, rarely seeing anyone who looked impressive. I thought it was because people were over-training, going to the gym too often. I mean, it’s all you ever read. Over-training, over-training, over-training. Don’t push it too hard, rest, rest, rest.


So, Arnold’s Blueprint trainer came out, and it was 6 days a week, everything worked twice a week. It looked like quite a lot, but I thought, what the hell. This is what the classic bodybuilders of my favorite era did, so I thought I’d give it a shot. If I ate a lot, and got my rest, could it work? Would everything I once believed be turned on it’s head?
It sure as hell was. Within a month I had gains in size & strength that I’d never experienced before. It was unreal. I couldn’t believe it. I wasn’t over-trained. I had more energy, lost more fat, gained more muscle & strength, and felt better than I had in years.
I started to do some research, and thinking with some common sense, when it in fact, it all started making sense. Of course you have to train everything twice a week, working out 6 days a week. And of course you aren’t going to “over-train” if you rest enough. I mean, think about a guy who works construction for a living. If he lift bags of concrete often, are his muscles not going to grow? Are they going to shrivel & die? Of course not. They’re going to adapt to the load and grow.
Now, do you really think working out 3 days a week, once you get into it for a few years, is going to do much? Let’s say you train chest on Monday. The average person works out for about 45-60 minutes. Do you really think that 45 minutes a week is enough to make a difference, whatsoever? I  mean, out of an entire week, just 45 minutes is going to do make a big change? You also have those who just obliterate their muscle group, and are sore for days. I think this is even worse, because your body is beat the hell down, then you go in just a day later and do it all over again, to a different body part, but it’s still the same central nervous system.
Now, 6 days a week makes a lot more sense. You hit chest on Monday, hard & strong, but don’t obliterate it, and you may be a bit sore, but nothing terrible, and then come Thursday, just as your chest is good & healed, you hit it again. It’s constantly being told to grow, to get stronger, and it does. It makes a lot of sense to me, and has given me results I couldn’t have imagined.
Now, I know 6 days a week is a lot for some people, so if you work 4 or 5 days a week, work out a plan where you end up hitting everything twice a week. Just give it a shot, and if you’re the right type for it, you’re gonna see amazing results, and hopefully change your life, just like Arnold did for me.

Now, beyond the 6 days a week, everything twice a week, the program was just a barrage. It attacked your big muscles with tons of supersets, and high volume. You’d train chest & back together, with arms & shoulders the next day, when usually people would say “You gotta train chest & tris together or you overtrain!”. The program would change up exercises, superset combos, reps, sets, and other things every week. It was absolutely fantastic. Once I’m done with Project Mass, I’m going to do a round 2 with Blueprint. I implore you guys to give it a shot, as I really can’t say enough about it.

Alright, I’ll see you guys on Saturday, when I’m back in the gym. Till then, stay pretty, hit the gym, don’t be a punk.

4 thoughts on “The Program That Changed My Life”

  1. I also did the blueprint and loved it man! I gained a solid 16 pounds over the course of the program. And I agree with your point about not completely “obliterating” a muscle on one day. It allows for hypertrophy and makes you look bigger! (definitely a bonus haha). Have you had any success with any other programs? One of my favourite is Get Swole by musclepharm.

    Like

    1. 16lbs? That’s incredible, nice work.

      I did Stronglifts 5×5 a year ago, because I wanted to build up some basic strength. I’d never squatted before the program. So, I started off being able to do like, 125lbs or so for a set of 5, and within 3 months I was banging out sets of 225lb.

      After Arnold, I got really involved in what’s known as Power-Building. It’s workouts with a bodybuilding/powerlifting mix, and I love it. Anyway, I got this one workout that a guy designed, and so far it’s my all time favorite workout program. I put on more size, got more defined, and a lot stronger. If you want the link, let me know and I’ll post it.

      Get Swole, huh? I’ll have to look into that.

      Like

  2. I just finished Phase 1 of Blueprint Mass. My strategy has been to just do the workouts in sequence, and as life gets in the way, it forces rest days mixed in. So basically I end up working out 4-5 days per week, and finish the 4 week program in 5 weeks. It’s amazing. The first week I was sore as hell, but now I’m shocked at how my body is adapting and recovering. The workouts are really really long, but I think the volume is necessary to get real growth (esp for a hardgainer like me).

    Like

    1. Yeah, it’s a great program to really shock the body into growth. Because normally, you’re not doing almost 2 hour long workouts, as well as working biceps & triceps the day after you work back & chest.
      Like you, the first time I did it I was really shocked at how quickly I adapted. It really showed me that, at least for me, over-training isn’t something that happens the second you workout for longer than an hour.
      It’s not a program I’d recommend for beginners, or something you should do back to back. But mos def something people who’ve been working out for a few years should do once every 9 months to a year. Having just finished my second round, it works like a charm.

      Like

Leave a Reply

