Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 19 – Strength Leg Day

ronnielegpressGreetings, all.

Well, we know for all the other suckers out there it’s the new year, thus it’s time “get in shape”, with all that resolution crap. But for us? We’ve been kicking our own ass for years, months, weeks, or days. We don’t need to “set a date” for when it’s go time, because we all learned that you can’t plan that, it just happens. For me, it was almost 5 years ago. In June of 2010. My brother came back from college, and he’d been working out, something I dabbled in when I was in my early 20s. So, he came back, and I said “OK, let’s start our workouts on Monday”, to which he said “you can wait till then, I’m gonna hit it today”. So, I agreed, and haven’t looked back. Of course, I didn’t start lifting properly until May of last year, which is something I think happens to all lifters.

Bottom line, when it comes to changing things for the better, or doing something you know is right, don’t wait. Do it. Jump right in, both feet. Don’t be a sucker and sit around, trying to come up with a strategy and over complicate the matter. Just hit it.

Alrighty, let’s get it…

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Squat – 205×3, 225×3, 3, 3

This is the 4th week of the Project Mass program, and it’s suppose to be a de-load week. However, I took an extra day off for two weeks in a row, so I consider that de-load enough. I’ll actually participate in a de-load the next time it comes around.

Rack Pull – [bar below knee] 225×3, 3, 3, 3

I did 225 for sets of 5 last week, however my legs were toast after the squats, and you never wanna mess around with deadlifts, so I play it safe.

Leg Press – 630×3, 3, 3, 5

I maxed out on the cable leg presses last week, so it’s to the plate loaded now. I freely admit to sticking with the cable leg presses because it’s a hell of a lot easier moving a pin than having to load up 14 plates. But, when you become a mega-ultra-super-beast, you gotta pay the toll.

Dumbell Romanian Dead-Lift – 45 per hand – 5, 5, 5, 5

Last April I did a few sets of RDLs with a barbell and injured my lower back a little on the left side. It wasn’t debilitating, but it was pretty damn tender for almost a month, so I never did them again. Well, this program keeps calling for them, so I decided to step back on the horse, but with dumbells, to help take the stress off the lower back near the top of the lift. Anyway, as you can see last Tuesday, I did 4 sets of 10 with 45s in each hand. It OBLITERATED my hamstrings. They were insanely sore for days, and even today they’re still sore. So, because of that I went real light on the RDLs, just to get the blood in there.

Cable Upright Rows – 100×10 for 5 sets.

Fantastic movement for building your traps. Give them a squeeze at the top to help the ol’ mind and muscle connection, baby.

Incline Walk – 10 minutes

Post-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, then 20 minutes later it’s 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 2 scoops of Bio-Gro.

I’m gonna do a mailbag article sometime here soon, so if there’s any questions you guys have, send’em on in: caliberw@hotmail.com, or @CaliberWinfield.

Alright you beautiful cats, that’s it. I’ll see you tomorrow for some rockin’ strength focused push day. It may sound like an exaggeration, but I can pretty much promise you it’s going to be the greatest workout anyone has ever done, or you, the readers, will have ever read. I’m out of here, and as always, remember to stay pretty, and sweep the leg.

Leave a Reply

