Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 20 – Strength Push Day

Lee_Haney_bench_pressGreetings, all.

So far the bulk is going really well. I’m up around 5-7lbs. I know that some of it has to be fat, but I really can’t see the addition of it. As far as muscle, I am seeing an increase with that. My traps, chest, shoulders and back are really starting to pick up. I’m really starting to believe that you can really eat whatever you want, so long as you exercise enough. Of course, I wouldn’t advocate a life of constant toaster strudels, but if you’re busting ass at least 5 days a week then you needn’t stress out about adding any fat when you wanna be normal and eat some crap.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Flat Bench – 225×3, 255×2, 3, 2

I could have hit 3 on that last set, but I don’t like to push too hard on flat bench when it’s heavy and I don’t have a spot.

Hammer Strength Incline Press – 250×4, 270×4, 280×4, 320×3

My goal for the HS incline is to be able to rep 4 plates on each arm. At least 3 reps. I rarely use the barbell version of the Incline Bench because unless my form is absolutely dead on, then my left shoulder starts to hurt, and I’m terrified of screwing up a rotator cuff.

Overhead Press – 115×4, 125×4, 4, 4

I was able to go 10lbs heavier than last week, which was great. When I was doing this movement first in my previous program, I was getting up to around 150-155lbs for sets of 5. However, because it follows some real heavy pressing, I can’t jump into what I was doing. But I’ve been slowly building up these last weeks, and I should be back to normal soon. Which’ll be nice because I feel like a damn dandy repping 50lbs less than my usual.

Close Grip Bench – 185×5, 205×4, 4, [regular grip] 225×8

I was doing 195 last week, and it felt real heavy. This week though, things were practically bouncing off my chest, and I felt great. I could have nabbed the 5th rep on both sets, and then a 3rd set, however I was feeling so good I wanted to save up a bit to go after a PR. I’ve been wanting to get 8 reps on flat bench at 225lb for years now. So, I went for it, and sure as hell got it. Even after all that heavy pressing earlier. As I’ve said, set goals, guys, because nothing feels better than when you absolutely smash them.

Post-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn, 2 scoops of Bio-Gro.

Alright you articulate beauties, I’m out for the day. I’m about as tired as it gets, and unless I sign off, the rest of this update is going to be written out by my face as it crashes into they keyboard. I’ll see you guys tomorrow, and as always, remember: to be the man, whooo, you gotta beat the man.

Leave a Reply

