Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 22 – Hypertrophy Leg Day

legpressGreetings, all.

Yeah, you could tell I was tired yesterday as I picked the wrong graphic header, and also fell asleep like 3 times mid-writing. And considering that the whole article was like 200 words, that’s pretty sad.

So far though, I’m really enjoying this program. Mixing up the strength & hypertrophy days is awesome, and really lets you get the best from both worlds, without any of downside to simply sticking to one style. Like my boy Bruce Lee said, have the style of no style. Be like water. Formless. Fit into any situation.

As far as my bulking is concerned, I’ve put on around 5-7lbs thus far. I think a good portion of it has gone to my legs, because it’s almost impossible to get into the driver’s side of a car now. I have to slide the seat back far enough to slide my knees underneath the wheel, otherwise I gotta cram my quads in, and that becomes like a man vs machine type battle. Like, I’m dropping elbows on the car. Although an inconvenience, it is sorta cool to be so big it’s a hassle. I can also see a difference in my traps & chest.

Alrighty, let’s get it…

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Hack Squat – 270×8, 290×8, 8, 8

I’m working on getting lower with these. I don’t like to go so low that the hamstrings touch the ankles, because it feels like hell in my  knee. Instead I get as low as parrell or below. I’m getting there now with 290, and feel I could slap a couple 25s on in the place of the 10lb ones.

Leg Extension – 150×8, 8, 8, 8

Hyper-Extension – bodyweight of 255lbs for 8, 8, 8, 8

SUPERSET:
Cable Leg Press – 220×8, 280×8, 8, 8
Sitting Leg Curl – 115×8, 8, 8, 8

Usually a superset with legs is leg ext and the leg press. However, combining it with leg curls was great, and created a unique burn. Much like biceps, quads always get the attention, and the poor hammies get no respect. But when you fatigue those bad-boys, you truly see just how much power they have, and how damn useful they are. So, don’t neglect those hip-cats, and hit’em as hard and as often as you would anything else.

Sitting Calf-Extension – 120×20, 140×10, 10, 10

This is my favorite calf exercise. It feels fantastic, great range of motion, you don’t have to load a ton of plates, or put a bunch of weight on your back. If you have this at your gym, absolutely give it a run.

Standing Calf Raise – 180×8, 8, 8, 8

Incline Walk – 10 minutes

Post-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn, 2 scoops of Bio-Gro.

I’ve always had naturally big legs, so I never was too serious about training them until a few months. I figured, what hell, I need to take my own advice and quit being punk. Since then, I’ve really been enjoying the hell out of it. Plus, it puts you in a special club to go after your wheels like you would your upper-body. Because if you’ll notice, you never see too many people fighting over the squat rack, or ever placing more than 4 plates on the leg-press. Stand out. Be the exception to the rule. Don’t be the average punk looking to do the least to get by, because you’re a hell of a lot better than that.

Alright, buckshots, I’m outta here. I’ll see you tomorrow for hypertrophy push day. Until then, remember: stay pretty.

Leave a Reply

