Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 23 – Hypertrophy Push Day – Plus, A Small Request To Female Gym-Goers

Lee_Haney_bench_pressGreetings, all.

Now that these pesky holidays are out of the way, I finally get a chest day all my own.

There was a new girl who showed up at the gym today, and she was pretty decent looking, and was clearly a competitor in either figure, or bikini. She had a very nice body, and, of course, was wearing skin tight clothing. Now, I have female readers, and you’re all really good looking. So, I must ask you a favor in the name of all men at the gym. When you go to workout, please, dress in the baggiest clothing you can. Hell, if you could simply wear a bunch of car tires or something that’d be even better.

Look, we’re men. There are few things in life we enjoy more than the female form. However, at the same time, we don’t want to appear to be lecherous creeps who gawk at hot women in the gym who just come to workout. So I’ll go completely out of my way to avoid looking at you. You’ll be over to my right doing tricep pressdowns, and I’ll be doing standing arm curls with my head CRANKED as far to the left as I can. I practically snap my neck to look the other way, and in turn end up looking like an even bigger weirdo. Even then I still try and steal a few gawks via the gym mirrors or something. It’s just ridiculous.

So, my beautiful readers, and various other beautiful women of the gym, please, come dressed in trash bags or one of those sumo-wrestler costumes when you workout. It’s very much appreciated.

Alright, let’s get it…

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro

Dumbell Flat Bench – 70×8, 80×8, 90×9, 60×10

If you aren’t doing these yet, I absolutely recommend you start. I’ve been keeping at them for a month now, and I know it’s already added a bit of thickness as well as hardness to my chest. The range of motion you get is absolutely fantastic, and it fatigues my pecs more than anything else, even flies. Not to mention it recruits your entire body to lower them as well as lift them back up. That’s another thing. A guy at the gym a while back was doing dumbell bench with 120s, and would rep till failure, then sit back up and re-rack the dumbells. I said that was impressive, as most people just dump them, and he said real strength is getting back up and not having to drop’em. So, ever since then it’s been my goal, and I’ve made sure to do it.

Hammer Strength Incline Bench – 180×8, 8, 8, 8

Last week after flat bench dumbell I could only rep out 140 on the incline, but I was able to rock two plates per arm this week, which is a pretty good increase in strength.

Dumbell Shoulder Press – 45×8, 30×8, 35×8, 40×8

Holy crap, my shoulders were TOAST. I could barely get those 45s up, and I can normally rep 60s. Just goes to show you how much shoulder goes into your bench pressing movements. That being said, make sure you guys warm up real well when it comes to work involving the shoulders. Of course, you should always warm up, but really make sure to do it with shoulders. Once those bad-boys are hurt, it can hinder weight-lifting for the rest of your life.

Cable Lateral Raise – 5×8, 7.5×8, 8, 8

Cable Skullcrushers – 110×10, 10, 10, 10

When it comes to pure tricep-isolating moves, these are my favorite. I get an incredible pump, and the burn is real painful. Cables create constant tension, and I feel performing skullcrushers on cable system is unmatched.

Tricep Rope Pressdown – 70×8, 8, 8, 8

A lot of guys will perform these while standing at attention and simply pressing down. That’s the standard, and clearly it works. However, I feel I get a better range of motion and pump when I preform them with my knees bent. Imagine you’re about to sit down in a chair. Just put your body in that position, in between sitting and standing, and pull the rope toward the top of your legs. I find when I preform these following the cable skullcrushers that the pump is so intense I can barely bend my arms.

Incline Walk – 20 minutes

Post-Workout – 24oz of Gatorade, and then the same thing I had pre-workout.

Alright, that’s it for your boy today. I’ll see you guys tomorrow for the final day of the workout week, some super-sweet hypertropy pull day action. Till then, remember: stay pretty, and don’t sit on a machine and text.

Leave a Reply

