Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 25 – Strength Based Leg Day

tom-platz-squatGreetings, all.

I know for some of you the day I put for how far I am in Project Mass may be confusing, because it doesn’t line up with the program. The actual program goes on 8 day cycles. You have 3 on, one off, and so forth. Well, I do 6 days on. So, from now on I’ll put exactly where I am in the beginning paragraph. As of right now, I’m just now starting day one of the 2nd section, or 2nd microcycle, and there are 3 of them, I do believe.

Thus far I’m digging the hell out of the program, because having days for strength and days for sheer hypertrophy [muscle growth] is perfect. You get to have the days where you ego lift, go for PRs, and have people question whether or not you were bombarded with gamma radiation or a mutant healing factor. Then your days for supersets, drop sets, burning out the muscle, and a lot of volume. Focusing on the mind muscle connection and not worrying too much about the number of the weight.

Alright, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Squat– 225×3, 230×3, 3, 3

I honestly felt like I could have shot up 10lbs on this, no problem. But, I don’t want to rush things and then have no where to go in a week or two.

Deadlift – 225×3, 3, 3, 3

The program calls for Sumo Deadlift here, but I couldn’t get the mechanics down whatsoever. Doing heavy lifts like this without the proper form can be really dangerous, so I just did some standard action. It’s rare I do deadlifts right off the floor, so I want to take it light for the first few weeks. I felt really good with these, and could have probably been pulling 250-275.

High Stance Plate Loaded Leg Press – 450×6, 540×5, 640×5, 5

I usually have my feet on the lower end of the platform, but this calls for the high stance. This had some pros & cons. For one, I was able to get the platform deeper than usual, which was great for range of motion. However, I don’t have very long legs, so my lower back came off the pad a bit on the lift off, which can be sort of dangerous when you’re pushing heavier weight.

Romanian Dumbell Dead Lift – [the number reflects the dumbell in each hand] 50×5, 60×5, 65×4, 4

I don’t go barbell anymore, because about 8 months ago or so I injured my lower back doing them, and it took a few weeks for it to heal. I was actually scared off of RDLs for a while. So, going with dumbell, I’m not constantly putting stress on my lower back, and get a little relief at the top of the lift.

Incline Walk – 10 minutes

Post-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

I was never much into training legs, simply because they’d pretty much been a strong point for me genetically. However, I forced myself to quit being such a punk, and start putting in work. Now I really dig the hell out of training legs and I’m starting to see a big difference already.

Alright, I’ll see you hip-cats tomorrow. As always, remember: It belongs in a museum!

Leave a Reply

