Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 40 – Hypertrophy Based Leg Day – Plus, John Cena Is A Beast

jay-cutler-leg-workoutGreetings, all.

One of the reasons I got into bodybuilding was my love for pro-wrestling. Along with action movies & comic books, I grew up my entire life watching burly dudes kick about 10lbs of ass per square inch. In this day age there’s one guy who stands above all in strength & size, and that’s John Cena. He started out lifting as a teenager, and due to a fantastic work-ethic & genetics, he grew up to become an absolute beast. Along of guys can be insanely cut, but not huge, and a lot of guys can be huge and not all that cut. He happens to be both, as well as other-worldly strong. Much like Arnold, he’s a guy I look up to for his accomplishments, as well as all that he does in the gym. Today I thought we’d take a look at a few of his lifting videos.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 2 scoops of BioGro.

SUPERSET:
Hack Squat – 180×12, 12, 12, 12
Single Leg Plate Loaded Leg Press – 180×12, 12, 12, 12

I’m going lighter on my hack squats so I can go lower. I use to not be able to as low as possible, because it’d wrench my knee. However, I started with no plates and practiced until my knee became stronger and now I can handle full depth. I’m like a submarine. A weight-lifting submarine. Yeah, there we go. With the single leg press I’d do the first & third sets starting with the left leg, and the right on the second & third.

Hyper-extension – 8, 10, 8

SUPERSET:
Leg Extension – 120×12, 12, 12, 12
Sitting Leg Curl – 115×12, 12, 12, 12

To ramp up the intensity on these I do the first two supersets back to back. Then wait 60 seconds, and finish up the last 2 supersets in the same fashion. It’s absolutely brutal and I almost puke every time.

Plate Loaded Leg Press Narrow Stance – 270×12, 450×12, 12, 12

Sitting Calf Extension – 120×12, 12, 12, 12

Standing Calf Raise -150×8, 8, 8, 890

Incline Walking – 15 minutes

Post-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 30g of whey isolate, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn creatine.

Here he is with another freak of nature, Antonio Cesaro, as they rep 500lbs while squatting. On top of that he’s also doing a few other olympic lifts, using more than a decent amount of weight.  John not only works out bodybuilding style, but he also mixes in power-lifting, as well as olympic style lifts. The dude excels in every facet of weight-lifting, never slouching, and because of that he’s one of the greatest all around lifters of all time.

Alright, duders & duderettes, that’s it for me today. I’ll see you tomorrow for some hypertrophy based push day action. Which I’m pretty sure will be the buffest day in history. Right on.

Leave a Reply

