Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 42 – Hypertrophy Based Pull Day – Plus, Ladies, Don’t Shy From The Weights

dorian-yates1Greetings, all.

I recently noticed that I now have 50+ followers, which absolutely blows my mind. I honestly didn’t expect to get this many, this fast, especially with zero advertisement. I really can’t thank you hip cats enough for the support, corny and cliche as that sounds. I truly appreciate it.

One thing I noticed is that a healthy portion of my followers are women. Clearly, since they’re digging the writing of Caliber Winfield, they’re clearly insanely brilliant, with impeccable taste. Really though, what I wanted to talk about is how great it is to see women hitting the weights. For years and years I’ve heard women say they don’t want to lift weights because they don’t want to get bulky, as if doing 3 sets of 10 with 50lbs on a chest-press machine is gonna turn them into Ronnie Coleman or something.
For those that don’t train with weights, lemme tell you, you aren’t going to get bulky unless you absolutely pursue it with unstoppable determination and some hormone therapy. Most women can’t look big unless they hop on the drugs, so you clearly don’t have to worry about it. What happens when you lift is that you become toned, you get healthy, shapely muscle, and are instantly a bad-ass.
You aren’t going to become vascular, and instantly loss your butt and chest. Instead, those very things become more enhanced, and as you age, tend to defy the laws of gravity without any help from a surgeon. You don’t have to worry about “if I hit the weights, people are gonna laugh at me because I don’t have abs and can’t lift very much” that so many, both guys & girls, seem to fuss over. No one in the gym laughs at anyone, unless they’re some pompous jack-ass that thinks they’re Mr. Olympia. Anyone who is trying to better themselves is instantly respected in the gym.
Besides, most guys don’t want a girl to have abs. A flat stomach is just fine, but you do not need to be cut-up by any means. One of the big reasons we find it sexy that you lift is because of the dedication behind it. It’s very easy to be a cardio bunny. But it’s difficult to truly kick-ass at weightlifting. It requires trial & error, program development, practicing form, tracking progress, time, dedication, and a slew of other things we find hot.
So, if you’re thinking about hitting the weights, then by all means please give it a shot. I think you’ll find it a hell of a lot more rewarding than just standing on that boring elliptical machine for 30 minutes.
For those that are already hitting the weights, then I salute you, as you’re all bad-asses.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

This entire workout was comprised of 4 sets with 12 reps each. I never work that high of a rep range, and it was definitely a lesson in humility as I really had to work lighter than usual. The pump was insane though.

Neutral Grip Iso-Pull Down – 120×12, 12, 12, 12

If you guys haven’t seen this, it’s an individual machine where you do a lat pulldown but each arm works independently.

Seal Row – 40×12, 12, 12, 12

This is where you lay face down on a bench and do dumbbell rows. Great feel in the lats.

Hammer Strength Underhand Lat Pulldown – 140×12, 12, 12, 12

Close Grip Pulldown – 105×12, 90×12, 12, 12

Standing Double-Arm Dumbbell Row – 40×12, 12, 12, 12

Alternate Dumbbell Curl – 15×12, 12, 12, 25×12

Cable EZ Bar Curl – 60×12, 12, 12, 12

Incline Walk – 10 minutes

Post-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 40g of Whey Isolate, 2g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Alright you hip cats, I’m outta here for the day. Tomorrow is the off day, so we’ll resume the Fat Buff awesomeness on Saturday. It’s a deload week according to Project Mass, so we’ll see how that goes. Take care, buckshots.

4 thoughts on “Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 42 – Hypertrophy Based Pull Day – Plus, Ladies, Don’t Shy From The Weights”

    1. Hey ‘Bet,

      Thanks for the kind words, I appreciate it. I always dig seeing the buff Smurf, very cool icon.

      OK, I gotta be honest, I have zero idea what the imperial system is, unless we’re talking The Empire. In that case, no, I do not broadcast out of the Deathstar. Even though I’d like to.

      What’s the Imperial system?

      Like

      1. Ahh, OK. Thanks for the knowledge. Yes, it’s strictly American units.

        Haha, I wouldn’t say impressive numbers. Although I do appreciate it. I think some of my numbers are pretty decent, but I’m lacking in other things, such as squat and deadlift. I think my form is an issue with those though, and I’m thinking about hiring a coach to get a lot better and safer in those lifts.

        Like

Leave a Reply

