Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 60 – Stregnth Based Leg Day – Plus, Perfect Form is Your Best Friend

jay-cutler-leg-workoutGreetings, all.

There’s a saying that I like to….well, say. “It’s better to rep out 135 on anything with perfect form, than snap, crackle, and pop your way through it.” Obviously what I mean is that you need to always practice your form, because on many lifts, it’s crucial. Countless times I’ve heard about people stagnating on a lift, then doing a bit of research, correcting their form, and blasting through the plateau.
Another thing that’s so important about form is that it will save your body from a lot of pain. It will keep you from developing old man knees because of squats, lower back pain due to deads, or rotator cuff problems from benching. Now, after doing a lift for a while, we think we know exactly what we’re doing. In most cases, it’s true, however there are times when we can fall into bad habits. So, every once in a while I’ll hop online and check out videos & articles on form, just to hit a checklist and make sure I’m doing everything to keep me supernatural. Keep on keepin’ on, big homies.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Squats – 155×5, 160×5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5

I’ve been working on being explosive in my squat the past two weeks, hence the light weight. I’d been doing a bit of reading on squats lately, and being explosive in the lift portion is something crucial in training, and something I’ve never focused on. Now, while I could rep this weight much more than five, it’s a different story when you explode. I choose a weight that has me unable to come up quickly after the 5th rep.

Rack Pulls [bar resting just above the knee] – 235×5, 285×5, 5, 315×5

In my opinion, these are the best things you can do for your traps. When I really started getting into them, with heavy weight, my traps grew like a weed.

Plate Loaded Leg Press – 540×5, 630×5, 720×5, 810×5, 5, 5, 5

I both love and hate this thing. Loading all the damn plates on & off should be listed in the workout as well, it’s a freaking trial when you’re taking off 10, or close to 10 plates per-side.

Sitting Leg Curl – 155×5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5

Incline Walk – 10 minutes

Post-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Alright you hip birds, I’m outta here for the day. Tune in tomorrow for a strength based push workout so burly that death row inmates are given the choice between that or the chair, and they always choose the chair.

Leave a Reply

