Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 66 – Strength Based Leg Day – Plus, The Benefits of Higher Volume Training

image010Greetings, all.

Before we get started, and I wanted to propose a little something to you, the beautiful people. How often do you look around your gym and really see people who look like they work out? Not to mention they’re never putting up any sort of impressive weight. Or, if they may have one feature, they don’t have the other.  Or perhaps you yourself aren’t reaching the goals you’d hoped. Well, I have a suggestion.
Hitting a body-part twice a week. Think about it, how often do you really know of someone who does their body-parts twice a week? Hence why you’d never even know someone worked out with their clothes on, or hell, even off.
For quite a while now, the magazines and online articles have been telling us about OVER-TRAINING! Oh no! Look, I’m not gonna say over-training is bullshit, but it’s about as close as you can get to bullshit without it being so. Your body is a pretty powerful machine, and you seriously think that working out for an hour 5-6 days a week is gonna take it down? Especially when you’re eating properly and getting enough rest? That’s an absolute joke. Even funnier is the thought that training your chest on Monday, and waiting SEVEN DAYS is gonna yield any worthwhile results. Of course, the genetic freaks, and the guys on the juice can see results from this, but most of us can’t. Again, think about it, do you really believe that working out your chest for an hour, once a week, is enough to make it grow? Absolutely not. Your body is a tough bastard, it can handle the load.
When I started Arnold’s Blueprint back in May of 2014, it absolutely changed my life. It made me realize that the old time bodybuilders, the guys who were the strongest, and looked the best, and are living longer than bodybuilders whose reign was that of the late 90’s to the 2000s, had it right. I began making magnificent gains in both size, density, and strength. It made me re-think everything, and look at it from a logical stand point.
You ever shook the hand of a guy who does construction? It’s like a vice grip, because they’re constantly in use of those muscles. 10 hours a day, 5-6 days a week. Now, if all this over-training crap were as easy to fall into, then wouldn’t they be weak as a baby? No. They just get stronger. Your muscles don’t shrivel up and die. Look at guys in jail, all they do is workout, and they’re doing fine. People who train for the Olympics workout 5-6 hours a day, 6 days a week, and only get better.
If what you’re doing is working for you, then by all means, continue to do it. I’m not saying that any method is wrong, because everything works for someone, but I am saying that for the majority, more frequent training could yield much better results. If you’re currently doing a 3-5 day routine where you only work a body part once a week, then I’d advise you to look into an upper-body/lower-body split, or a push/pull/legs split, that has you working each body part at least twice a week. Most of these won’t be 6 days a week, so don’t sweat that if you don’t have the time. But I would take a look, because you probably have a huge well of untapped potential.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAAs with a 4:1:1 ratio.

Squat – 165×5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5

Explosive style squats again. I really dig the hell out of these, and they’re pretty exhausting. It’s hard to get the 5th rep and still fly. Then when you hit the 5th set or so, you’re pretty tired.

Rack Pulls [Bar At The Knee] – 235×5 [no straps], 285×5, 5, 320×5

I recently turned a couple other guys on to the Rack Pulls, and they dig the hell out of’em. They develop the hell out of your traps, there’s less chance for injury, and your back gets so much more of the focus, instead of your legs.

Plate Loaded Leg Press – 540×5, 630×5, 5, 720×5, 5, 830×5, 5

I won’t lie, these leg presses are getting damn heavy. Also, it’s an absolutely colossal pain in the ass having to put on and take off 18 45 plates. I’d stick with the cable leg presses, but they no longer go heavy enough for me.

Sitting Leg Curl – 175×5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5

I wish I was capable of doing RDLs, but the left side of my lower back just won’t have it, as the old injury flares up after a while. These work real well, but when I get up into the deeper sets, my hams can cramp up, and when I get off the machine I have to hobble.

Incline Walk – 20 minutes

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Alrighty, that’s it for your boy. I’ll see you guys tomorrow for a Strength Based Push Work that I’m bound to make so many PRs during they’re gonna give me my own wing in the next Genius Book of World Records. Hopefully I’ll be right next to the two fat biker twins.

One thought on “Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 66 – Strength Based Leg Day – Plus, The Benefits of Higher Volume Training”

  1. I’m with you regarding over-training. seen it happen two or three times with full-time athletes who were trying to push their way into the upper echelon. those people were smart about it, adapted to the circumstances and came back better than ever.

    just like you write, I find it highly improbable that a normal schmuck (like myself) would fall victim to over-training. mental burnout, sure, being fed muscular ripped guys while being on the pudgy side and not doing anything about it. but for real, over-training does not happen to the vast majority of the gym population. screw. that. nonsense.

    as for your actual thought here (doing each lift/body part twice a week), this is something I recently realised as well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

