Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 67 – Strength Based Push Day

Arnold-Training-TipsGreetings, all.

Took a few update pics this morning. Basically, I look like a pirate who made a gym out of barrels of rum.

currentCaliberMarch1Yes, I know, I very much need to tan. It’d help to bring out more definition, and people wouldn’t confuse me as the main character from the shortly ran cartoon series, Casper The FatBuff Ghost.

I’m trying to cut a little fat now. It’s not a big ol’ official cut, with the “figure out your maintenance and cut the 300 calories” ordeal. I’m gonna take it nice and slow, and aim for like, 5-10lbs of fat over a couple months. Nothing crazy.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, True Athlete BCAA with a 4:1:1 ratio.

Flat Bench – 225×5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5

Doing 7 sets, even with a weight that’s not too difficult to snag 5 reps for the first few, gets pretty damn heavy after awhile.I really dig the high level of sets with low reps.

Incline Bench – 115×5, 135×5, 5, 5, 5, 6, 7

These were done in explosive style. Lowering slow, then shoot the weight up under control, as fast as you can. I choose a weight where I can no longer lift fast around the 5th rep. I really can’t say enough about the explosive lifting.

Over-Head Press – 95×5, 115×5, 5, 120×5, 125×5, 130×5, 135×5

Man alive, my freaking shoulders were not happy, and did not want to do this. I can work 165 for sets of 3-5, and 115 felt like I was lifting the gym, with a bag of cement on the rooftop. I could barely get that last set of 5 up, which lets you know they were doing their job.

Close Grip Bench – 155×5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5, 5

Explosive style here. Beyond really digging the hell out of that style, it also saves my wrists here, because I can move some decent weight, and it puts them bad boys under a lot of strain, with so many damn pressing moves. The 155 felt great, and my triceps are actually feeling sore as I speak.

Incline Walk – 20 minutes

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Alright, you gnarly beasts, that’s it for me. I’ll see you guys tomorrow for some Strength Based Pull Day action. A day that will prove to be so burly and memorable, that Dana White will try to sign it to the UFC. Yes, Dana White will want to sign my workout day as a fighter. It’s gonna be that fantastic. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

