Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 69 [heh] – Hypertrophy Based Leg Day – Plus, Your Personal Trainer Is Probably An Idiot

jay-cutler-leg-workoutGreetings, all.

Your personal trainer is probably an idiot. I have a serious beef with them. Look, if your personal trainer comes from a national gym franchise, then you’d be a lot better off just getting a program from the internet. Blind folded.
First off, the people who work at these chains are told to go out and get as many clients as possible. So much so that sometimes they’re handed phone books and told to simply start dialing. I’m not joking about that. Listen, a person can literally walk off the street, without ever stepping foot in a gym, and become certified as a personal trainer. Then train you. A person who has never lifted a weight. Whose never for a second lived the life, or truly knows a damn thing. Bodybuilding, fitness, it’s not something you can just learn from books, it’s truly something you have to learn from experience as well as the ol’ book learnin’. So, as CT Fletcher once said, fuck your piece of paper.
While working out one day, I noticed the same trainer see three different people. One of them a young man thin, one of them a young woman a little bigger than average, and the other a very older woman who was also a little bigger than average. He gave each person the SAME EXACT WORKOUT. That’s absolutely deplorable. I mean, seriously? The same f’ning work out for everybody? Workouts should be crafted for each individual, because rarely will one person react to a workout the same as another. All these different people, with all these different goals, and you’re force feeding them BS, off-the-shelf workouts. It’s pathetic.
Then the other day I see a PT having a person warm up by walking up and down the gym doing the Nazi Goosestep. I’m 100% not kidding. I went to take video of it, but I would have been too obvious. She was walking up and down the gym throwing her arms high up in the air like doing front-shoulder raises, while walking without bending her knees. I was the most absurd thing I’ve ever seen.
I constantly see these people giving half-assed workouts to people, without any intensity, or real worth, and it bums me the hell out. Please, do plenty of research when you choose a PT, and don’t spare any expenses. Since being a PT isn’t what I have to do to make a living, I often charge half of what people’s current PTs are, or half of what most charge. But I often don’t take people as clients, because most people don’t listen, or have any real drive. Which is why I guess they dig those BS PTs from the big chains.
But if you’re a bad-ass who’s serious about their training and want a real PT, do your research. Please.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAAs with 4:1:1 profile.

Hack Squats – 180×8, 230×8, 8, 8

I’m almost at the weight I was working at when I was half-assing these badboys, so, huzzah.

Plate Loaded Leg Press – 450×12, 12, 12, 12

Plate Loaded Single Leg Press – 180×12, 12, 12, 12
SUPERSET WITH
Sissy Squats – 8, 7, 6, 6

I’m telling you cats, give Sissy Squats a try, they work your quads like a manager. The first time I tried them out, I seriously had trouble walking the next day.

Sitting Leg Curl – 100×12, 115×12, 12, 12
SUPERSET WITH
Hyperextension – 8, 8, 7, 5

Lying Leg Curl – 70×12, 12, 12, 12

Sitting Calf Extension – 170×10, 10, 10, 10
SUPERSET WITH
Standing Calf Raise – 105×5, 5, 5, 5

Incline Walk – 20 minutes

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

This was a damn burly leg workout. All the supersetting, and high volume sets had me to the point where I almost puked. I also had to sit down after some of the hamstring supersetting. The incline walking is a perfect cap to a leg workout as well. Dig it.

Alright you hip cats, I’m outta here. I’ll see you tomorrow, for some Hypertrophy Based Push Day action. I’m pretty sure that it’ll be so legendary, that one day Indiana Jones will search for it.

Leave a Reply

