Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Day 74 – Strength Based Pull Day – Plus, Protein Timing Myths

pull-ups-ve-chin-upsGreetings, all.

Everyone knows if you don’t take in protein immediately after you workout, you die. It’s a known fact. Your gains will vanish. Matter of fact, all your gains will not only leave your body, but attach themselves to someone who didn’t even work for them! Can you imagine such things?!

In reality, the post-workout window is a load of BS. Yeah, it’s a good idea to get in protein after your workout, but really your body is receptive to protein after you workout for the rest of the day. It’s not like any protein you take in after an hour is going to be worthless, or as previously mentioned, you’re gonna lose a ton of gains.

That said, I like to get my protein in about 20-30 minutes after the workout. I read a study once that showed it was an optimal time, as things were prime for receiving all the amino goodness. I tried to find that article again, but I haven’t been successful. So instead I just get to make a wild claim without any science to back it up. But hey, this is weightlifting, so it’s allowed. Honestly, science is always all over the place. One day they say to avoid all fats when dieting, then we learn that with the exception of trans, all fats are good for you, and pretty essential.

For me, I take in 30g around 30 minutes after I workout, and everything seems to be working a-OK with that. I use Whey Isolate because I’m lactose intolerant, but even if I wasn’t it would still be my preferred post-workout protein because of how fast it hits the system, and it’s purity. Before workouts I like Muscle Milk because it’s a great mix of protein styles, and also has fiber, carbs, and good fats. I also use it before bed, and use my Whey Isolate through out the rest of the day.

Also, during workouts I like to drink Gatorade with a scoop of BCAAs that has at least a 4:1:1 leucine profile. For those of you cats unaware, leucine is the coolest of all the BCAAs. The one that really opens up the mTor pathway, and gets protein synthesis going. Which is why you see more & more BCAA products with a higher leucine profile. BCAAs are don’t have to be digested, and are immediately soaked up through the stomach. They help with endurance during workouts, and I find that personally I have better results when I train with them. Also, I believe in the broscience of quick, sugary carbs during a workout.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with 4:1:1 profile.

Bent-Over Row – 250×3, 3, 3, 5

Hammer Strength Pull Down – 230×3, 3, 3, 5

I can’t get enough of this machine, it has such a fluid range of motion. It also feels great when you let it pull your arms up, allowing you to feel a deep stretch in your lats. It’s really helped me to build up my strength lately.

Hammer Curl – 50×3, 3, 3, 40×7

I really dig these because they work the forearms, as well as the long head of the bicep, which gives you size & thickness on the outside of your arm.

Hammer Strength Sitting Shrugs – 270×5, 5, 5, 5

With this, you can either sit or stand. Standing allows you to use more weight, but sitting creates a fantastic isolation. Especially if you set the seat so your arms are just short of letting the handles rest, so when you lower them, you can hold at the bottom with all the weight stretching your traps.

Incline Walk – 15 minutes

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g Creatine, 1 scoop of BioGro.

Alright you happening type of cats, I’m out of here. I’ll see you guys tomorrow for the start of the hypertrophy portion of the week, begining with legs. I’m telling you, the workout is gonna be so fierce it’ll be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame, and that doesn’t even make sense.

Leave a Reply

