Bodybuilding.com’s Arnold’s Blueprint Trainer – Day 5 – Shoulders & Arms

arnold-shoulder-pressingGreetings, all.

Your boy has a loaded schedule today, so it’s just gonna be the workout update today. Sometime here in the near future I’m gonna do a full review for the Project Mass, so you cats will know everything I think about it without having to search through every update. Although, who wouldn’t want to search through the piles & piles of brilliant things I’ve had to say? Sometimes I go through my old updates just to get advice from myself.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade with 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

Arnold Press – 30×5, 35×5, 37.5×5, 40×5, 45×5

I love these bad boys, bad boys I don’t see people doing nearly enough. I strongly suggest them to you if they’re missing from your arsenal. However, I do suggest you watch videos online about form and everything, as plenty of people do them incorrectly.

Dumbbell Press – 30×12, 35×10, 40×8, 52.5×6
SUPERSET WITH
Barbell Front Raise – 20×12, 10, 8, 30×6

Rear Delt Fly Machine – 50×14, 75×10, 90×8, 6
SUPERSET WITH
Upright Row – 50×12, 60×10, 70×8, 80×6

Lately when I’ve been doing Upright Rows, I’ve been using the tricep rope. It’s so much easier on your wrists, and you can rock a massive range of motion. This superset was fantastic, and I felt it very deep in my upper back. I tend to squeeze at the top of each lift during this superset.

Barbell Curl – 40×12, 45×10, 40×8, 45×6

Cable Flex Curl – 30×12, 40×10, 50×8, 6
SUPERSET WITH
Machine Preacher Curl – 65×12, 10, 8, 6

Close Grip Bench Press – 135×12, 145×10, 8, 6

Tricep Rope Pressdown – 80×12, 90×10, 8, 6
SUPERSET WITH
Standing Single Tricep Pressdown – 15×12, 17.5×10, 8, 6

These are done with those independent cable stations that have moveable arms that you can place pretty much anywhere. I set them up so I can basically do a standing tricep pressdown, but with two arms. The reason being, my left tricep is a little smaller than my right, and I find that my right tends to take over on tricep-based movements like Skullcrushers, when the arms start to fatigue.

Forearm Roller – 10lb plate for 4 sets, a set counts as one up, and one down.
SUPERSET WITH
Forearm Curls – 50x almost failure, 60x almost failure for 3 sets.

This combination gives my forearms a RIDICULOUS pump. I swear I’ve put on size in my forearms already from doing this combination just once. You can get a Forearm Roller at Wal-Mart, Big 5, or whatever sports store you have around you, and I highly suggest you do. They’re fantastic, and target your forearms like nothing else. Now, as for the Forearm Curls, go ahead and youtube those bad-boys, because I’m not talking about wrist curls. Regardless, I get a massive pump from these, and they hurt in a very good manner.

Hammer Strength Ab Crunch Machine – 15lbs x 4 sets of around 7 reps.

I love this machine. Absolutely hits my abs better than anything else. Digging it.

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine.

Okie dokie big homies, that’s it for today. I’ll see you cats tomorrow a Leg Day program that’s bound to be so incredible, people are going to confuse it for a volcano eruption.

Leave a Reply

