Bodybuilding.com’s Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Blueprint – Day 29 – Chest & Back

arnold-incline2_570_334_c1Greetings, all.

I’ve reached the second phase of Arnold’s Blueprint, and I forgot just how much volume they pile on top of you. I was looking back at one of my notebooks from last year, when I first ran this program, and I was a complete wuss. I was damn near cutting the program in half. I think I still had that stupid fear of over-training looming over me, thus the idea of doing 8 sets of 8 was impossible to me, and if I were to do that, why, I’d probably explode. Or at least my groin would. Something bad would happen.

But that’s the beauty of this program. You don’t run many sets to failure, but you can definitely run things to fatigue. When you perform 10 sets of 4, 8 sets of 8, you really begin to feel your muscles tire out, along with many ancillary muscles that are helping out. It’s really a genius program that’s perfect for mass building.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

Incline Bench – 135×4, 4, 155×4, 4, 165×4, 4, 175×4, 4, 185×4, 4

Flat Bench – 185×6, 6, 6, 6, 225×8

Machine Fly – 135×12, 12, 12, 12, 12
SUPERSET WITH
Incline Cable Fly  -7.5×12, 12, 12, 10×12, 12

I don’t use a bench for the Incline Cable Fly, I just set the cable gribs near the floor, and fly upward like a double-uppercut.

Machine Lat Pulldown – 113×14, 126×9, 136×8, 146×8, 177×4, 113×11

Bent-Over Row – 135×8, 8, 155×8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8
SUPERSET WITH
Bent-Over Double-Arm Barbell Row – 40×8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8

Man, those Bent-Over Rows were starting to annihilate the hell out of my back. My lats & traps were starting to burn like crazy, especially since I squeeze at the top, and let the barbell go down until I feel it pulling on my traps.

Hammer Strength Ab Crunch Machine – 4 sets of 12 reps each.

Incline Walking – 20 minutes

Post-Workout: 40g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine.

This was a great workout that basically served like a power-building workout, which is my absolute favorite. You get the strength sets, and the hypertrophy sets, nothing is left on the table, allowing you the full spectrum of building muscle.

Alright, I’ll see you hip cats tomorrow for a Shoulders & Arms workout so burly, it may very well open up it’s own Sand & Gravel company. While being both licensed & bonded.

Leave a Reply

