Bodybuilding.com’s Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Blueprint – Day 31 – Legs

arnold-legGreetings, all.

As I talked about yesterday, I measured myself for the first time in 10 months. Being natural, the numbers were a pretty big increase, I thought. Proof again that I finally found what works for me after a ton of trial & error.

Chest  – from 45 inches to 50
Arms – from 18 & 3/4 inches to 20
Forearm – from 12 inches to 14
Thighs – from 26 inches to 30
Calves -from 18 inches to 19 & 1/4

I’d like to get my forearms to 15, and my calves up to 20 so they perfectly match my arms. Most cats don’t care about being proportionate, but all my bodybuilding heroes were about it, and you look a lot more complete. 50 inches was always my goal when it came to chest, but I’m almost cool with adding more, since obviously some of these inches will come off the day I decide to really cut.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

Goblet Squat – 40×8, 42.5×8, 45×8, 47.5×8, 60×8, 8, 70×8, 85×8

These bad boys are freaking exhausting. Plus you get to build up your arms, lower-back, and core.

Lying Leg Curl – 110×6, 6, 6, 6, 115×6, 120×6

Plate Loaded Single Leg Press – 230×4, 4, 4, 4, 6, 6

Leg Extension – 70×20, 20, 20, 20, 20
SUPERSET WITH
Sitting Leg Curl – 70×20, 20, 20, 20, 20

Holy crap, these bad boys were brutal. When it comes to a high rep-range, a lot of people think that means to go real light. I chose a weight that would have me stopping around 16, 17 or so, then rest for about 3 seconds, and finish it out.

Sitting Calf Extension – 200×12, 280×6, 7, 8, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 180×10

Now that I’ve measured my calves, and want to get them to 20 inches, I can prove my theory that the best way to grow calves is heavy weight for low reps and high sets. I’d say within a couple months I should be there.

Hammer Strength Ab Crunch Machine – 4 sets

Incline Walk – 25 minutes

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine.

As I type this, I can feel the fatigue in my legs, so the extra sets & rep ranges really did their work today. Good stuff.

Alright, I’ll see you cats tomorrow for a Chest & Back workout so tough, printed copies of it are often used as bullet proof vests.

Leave a Reply

