Bodybuilding.com’s Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Blueprint – Day 40 – Shoulders & Arms Workout

arnold-blueprint_day19_graphics-1Greetings, all.

Last year when I tried doing Arnold’s program, I was still some what attached to the notion that if I trained any longer than an hour, or did more than 3 to 4 sets, all my gains would disappear. So, I chopped down sets & reps, and really only did 60-75% of what was written. Because, you know, I’d been working out for 3 years by then, only working out properly for about 6 months, so clearly I know more than the professionals. I still saw a lot of gains, but I definitely cheated myself.
Basically, if you’re going to do a program, try and follow it to a T. I mean, if it’s something some random guy on a message board built, then who knows. But if it was someone like Arnold, Mark Rippetoe, or Jim Stoppani, then listen. They know exactly what they’re doing, and you’re going to yourself Of course, if you can’t do a certain exercise for whatever reason you can switch it out, but try and do your best to make it as similar to the original choice.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

SW = Superset With

Over-Head Press – 115×4, 4, 4, 4, 4, 125×4, 4, 135×4, 4, 4

It’s rough business, and takes forever to add numbers to the lift, but don’t skip the OHP. It’s a fantastic lift, and what’s more manly than simply lifting something heavy above your head? Freaking nothing. Did He-Man politely place his sword on the ground and ask for the power to get out of those pinkish/purple pants? Hell no. He lifted that sucker to the moon and stated that HE HAD the power, thus, fur speedo. Hell yeah.

Arnold Press – 32.5×8, 35×8, 37.5×8, 40×8, 42.5×8
SUPERSET WITH
Lateral Raise – 10×8, 8, 8, 8, 8

With Lateral Raises, I mix up how I preform them. One of my recent favorites was something I read from Arnold’s book, The Modern Encyclopedia of Bodybuilding. You simply lean forward just a pinch, then set the dumbbells like you’re gonna do front-raises, and simply lift to the side. It definitely gives you a different feeling than the standard LRs.

Cable Upright Row – 120×6, 6, 6, 6, 6
SupersetWith
Rear Delt Machine Fly – 60×12, 12, 12, 12, 12

Sitting Cable Curl – 50×8, 8, 8, 8, 8

Machine Preacher – 110×5, 5, 5

Cable Flex Curl – 22.5×8, 27.5×6, 30×6, 6, 6
SW
Hammer Curl – 40×6, 35×6, 6, 6, 6

TNT Cable Pressdown – 140×4, 100×5, 80×8, 60×8, 50×8, 40×8

All of these sets were done one after another, drop set style.

Cable Rope Pressdown – 60×15, 15, 50×15, 15, 15
SW
Cable Rope Skullcrushers – 20×15, 15, 15, 15, 15

Forearm Roller – 10lb for 3 rounds for 3 sets
SW
Plate Spring Clamp Squeeze – Almost until failure
SW
Reverse Barbell Curl – 45×7, 7, 7

Incline Walk – 30 minutes

Post-Workout: 40g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Alright, hip cats, I’m outta here for today. These workouts have been kicking my ass the last fee weeks, so I’m trying to soak up all the extra sleep I can get. I’ll see you in the morning for a Legs workout so tough, they originally called The Rubix Cube “Caliber’s Thursday Leg Workout”. True story.

Leave a Reply

