Power-Building Workout – Day 1 – Push Day – Chest, Shoulders, Triceps – Plus, Future Game Plan

columbobenchGreetings, all.

First up, thanks to my boy Cory for heading over to my facebook deal and hitting that stupid like button. OK, now we’re only one person away from that table being full, and my OCD over the empty space disappearing forever. Who, who will step up along side Cory and be the hero that makes those obnoxious empty spaces vanish? And in turn, makes the chicks flock to me like the Salmon of Capistrano.

OK, as you can see I skipped the last week of Arnold’s Blueprint and jumped ahead to my planned 3 month Power-Building routine, which I did last September and loved. I’ll explain it in a second. Anyway, the Blueprint is a great program, and a hell of a way to shock your body into strength & muscle gains. However, phase 2, the last 4 weeks, are TAXING as hell. The workouts are about an hour and forty-five minutes to 2 hours long. With my cardio & stretching, I end up being in the gym anywhere between 2 hours & 30 to 2 hours & 45 minutes. If you’re a pro and that’s all you do, rock on, but there’s a lot I do beyond working out, and that bit of extra time is nice.
Also, it was nothing bothersome, but I could tell if I didn’t ease back there would be a problem with my wrists. With the weight I use, and the way phase 2 is set up, it hammers my wrists. Saturday would be heavy benching, and a lot of it, then Sunday would be heavy over-head pressing, and a lot of it, mixed with heavy tricep work. Then it’d start all over again on Tuesday. I use wrist wraps, so that’s helped a lot, but it’s so much nicer having Push & Pull Days.

Now, the program I’m doing now is my favorite. I love Power-Building. It’s a mix of powerlifting & bodybuilding, so you get the best of all the worlds. The way this program works is that it goes 6 days a week, on a Push/Pull/Legs system. Each workout starts with a heavy compound lift. Push Day A begins with flat bench, and Push Day B begins with Over-Head Press. After that, you do bodybuilding style lifts. There are no prescribed reps, just a rep goal. Like, Dumbbell Press would be “3 sets, 25 rep total”. So, for the first 2 sets I could choose a weight that I could nab 10 reps on, and the 3rd set choose a weight where I nab 5. Also, the rest periods get shorter. The heavy lift, 120 seconds. Then there are 2-3 lifts where the rest periods are 60 seconds, then 30 seconds, and a final lift with only 15 seconds. It really helps to ramp up the intensity.

So, after I do this bad boy for 3 months, I’ll either find a brand new Powerbuilding themed workout, or hit up Project Mass for some Round 2 action.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

Flat Bench: 225×5, 245×3, 2, 2, 225×5, 120seconds rest
SUPERSET WITH
Machine Chest Press: 180×10

I haven’t done heavy bench in a while, so I was a bit weak coming out of the gate which bummed me out, but I give that a week. After your final set, you drop the weight and immediately do as many quality reps as possible. I like to do the Chest Press, as you get a great contraction on the lockout.

Dumbbell Overhead Press – 40×8, 45×8, 50×8, 60 seconds rest

People often forget just how much shoulder work goes into benching. Well, do a heavy bench set and then work shoulders right after and you’ll see.

Dips – bodyweight of 260x 8, 6, 205×10, 5, 60seconds rest

I did the first two sets at my bodyweight, and the last one on the Dip Asst Machine, with 55lbs removed.

Cable Flyes – 20×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 30seconds rest

Single Arm Tricep Pressdown – 12.5×10, 17.5×10, 10, 10, 10, 30seconds rest

What I did here was every set was back to back. The only rest an arm got was when the other was working.

Seated Shoulder Lateral Raise – 10×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 15second rest.

These make a big difference when you’re seated. It really brings in the traps & rear delts. I also switched styles every set. From standard to twisting at the top.

Captain’s Chair Leg Raises – 3 sets of 10

Hammer Strength Ab Crunch Machine – 3 sets of 8.

Full Body Stretching.

Incline Cardio – 20 minutes

Post-Workout: 40g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Glutamine, 5g of Creatine.

It was great to be back in the saddle of the power-building workout again. I love the heavy compound lifts mixed with the high volume accessory work that’s done with shorter rest periods to up the intensity.

Alright, your boy is outta here. I’ll see you guys tomorrow for a Pull Day so amazing that the original title for the comic book was Caliber’s Pull Day Spider-Man.

Leave a Reply

