Powerbuilding Routine – Day 15 – Leg Day A – Quads, Hamstrings, Calves – Plus, Caliber Talks About Dad-Bods

arnold-legGreetings, all.

OK, if you haven’t heard there’s been a rise in girls clamoring for the ‘Dad bod’, or the dad-bod has become in fashion as of late. For those who don’t know what a Dad-Bod is, it’s a guy with a gut, no muscle, and skinny arms. The girls who claim to dig this look say it’s because the guy is “real”, and “not obsessed about his appearance”. I’ve also read they like it because it means that they’ll stay the focus in the relationship from other people.

Ugh. Seriously, people? So, guys who work out aren’t “real”? I don’t know, I work out 6 days a week, bust my ass, and I feel pretty real. Is real making up excuses as to why you can’t work out to improve your life, self-esteem, and health? Most guys who workout aren’t obsessed with our looks, we’re obsessed with being beasts who besides all the other awesome things we do, can Hulk Smash our way out of any situation.

Women aren’t really attracted to the look. Sure, there are some, but I personally believe it’s because of the non-intimidation factor. A good chunk of Women like a guy they feel like the could probably kick the ass of, it makes them feel safe in a sense. These same women also don’t want a guy who’s working out, not making excuses, and kicking ass, because it will serve as a constant reminder that they’re doing none of those things, and they do not want to be reminded of that. They also don’t want focus pulled from them in a social situation.

Matter of fact, as I write this sentence, I just got done reading an article where a girl basically says exactly what I just said, as if it were a good thing. You can find the article right here. So, basically what they’re saying is they want some Beta dude that’s gonna be a lazy, average punk that they can push around. Sure, why wouldn’t a girl want that? How pathetic. Seriously, this is our society? Where we don’t want to date people who may inspire us to do better, because God-forbid we work hard at something? Now, don’t get it twisted, I’m not saying all guy’s with dad-bods are Beta, I’m just saying the dudes they’re describing sure are. I’m also not saying it’s bad to be into a dude who looks like that if that’s your thing, but wanting someone because they don’t challenge you, that’s what a punk does.

I know I have some female readers, and I know they aren’t searching out some useless lump who is gonna sit around and kiss their ass all day. It’s just a shame bright women like that don’t have more influence than the basic bitches who are hyping up the ‘dad-bod’ look. But then again, who’s gonna get more attention, the program that says you can be fit & healthy in 20 minutes, or the program that says you can be fit & healthy in a year or so? All we can do is keep delivering the elbow drop from the top rope and strive to do better than we did the day before.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Squat – 205×5, 235×3,3,5, 135×8, 120sec RP

The final lift is a set done as soon as possible after the last, and you go until you can no longer bust out a quality rep. These squats aren’t easy by any means, but I no longer get that feeling of dread that I use to. If I’m able to keep the 5lb increment going, then I’m looking around a month, or 6 weeks to nab the goal of 315lb. FeastMode, baby.

Good Morning – 50×10,10,10, 60sec RP

I’m digging these a lot. But if any of you cats give them a shot, be extremely careful, and go super light. Focus on the technique, and don’t get yourself busted up. Hell, Bruce Lee was out of commission for quite a while due to going too heavy on Good Mornings.

Plate Loaded Leg Press – 710×10, 520×10, 10, 60sec RP.

It’s been a minute since I’ve done these, so I thought I could jump right back up to 710lb. Well, I sort of could, but the range of motion was crap. However, I’m not one of those who believe you have to bring your knees to your chest, in fact I’m quite against it. Go just until your heels are about to come off the platform, and then go back up. The Leg Press can put your lower back and hips into some bad-news situations, so don’t buy into that super-deep ROM crap, you’ll still get plenty out of this bad boy.

Hyper-extensions – bodyweight of 260×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 30sec RP

Sitting Leg Curl – 100×10, 10, 10, 10,10, 30sec RP

Standing Calf Raises – 180×10, 200×10, 10, 260×10, 300×7, 15sec RP.

Calf Raises – 205×8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8 15sec RP

Calves? More like Cows when I’m done, baby! See, that’s why Caliber is so popular, big time zingers. Remember, don’t take it easy on yourself when it comes to calves. Super heavy weight, low reps, lots of sets, 5 days a week. It’s what I’m gonna start doing here, because I need to bring them up an inch to match my biceps. I toned it down a while ago because they were over-powering everything.

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes.

I’m upping the intensity here, so I’m able to get the 100 calories sooner than 20 minutes.

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Alright, chickapeas, I’m outta here. I’ll see you Ghostbusters tomorrow for some Push Day action.

Leave a Reply

