Powerbuilding Workout – Day 16 – Push Day B – Shoulders, Chest, Triceps, Abs

columbobenchGreetings, all.

Busy day, or at least I’m gonna say it is, so I have an excuse to simply update with the workout. I do however have a huge bowl of oatmeal that I need to cook here in a minute. So, you know the score..

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Over-Head Press – 145×3, 155×3, 170×3, 135×5, 120sec RP.
As Many Quality Reps As Possible – 95×9

For those who don’t know, I’m keeping at 170 for 3 until I can do all 3 reps clean, without a struggle. OHP is the hardest lift to make progress at it, and it takes forever. As evident with this. 2 weeks ago I almost died getting the 3rd rep up, last week, barely almost died, today, wasn’t easy by any means, but there was a lot more confidence in the lift. I’m thinking one more week at 170, and then I can move on to 175.

Incline Dumbbell Bench – 60×8, 8, 9. 60sec RP.

The number obviously represents the weight of each dumbbell in my hand. I went at a slower pace to make it a bit more difficult, because I’m terrible at getting these damn things up, and didn’t want to destroy myself trying to. Make sure you guys bring these together at the top, absolute best thing for pec development I believe.

Close Grip Machine Bench Press – 135×10, 10, 10, 60sec RP.

I grab a cable attachment piece to bridge between the handles to make the magic happen.

Machine Flyes – 135×10, 145×10,10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

When doing these, remember to make your arms straight at the top of the lift, much better contraction. I have to confess, I’m one of those cats who when doing flyes and it really starts to burn, I stomp my feet like a 5 year old.

Overhead Triceps Extension Machine – 50×12, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

I’ve never used this machine before, and got a pretty good stretch out of it. It’s nice to get in a fixed path when it comes to triceps, because my right one is bigger than the left, dangnabbit.

Single Arm Triceps Rope Pressdown – 40×10, 10, 10,

The only rest an arm got was when the other was in action. I really recommend these bad boys, as the squeeze you get is fantastic, and I also get a hell of a pump. Basically, just set up the triceps rope, tie either the right or left side of it in a knot, then grab the rope and have a go.

Standing Cable Lateral Raises – 7.5×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10,15sec RP.

Like the Triceps Rope Pressdowns, these are done one arm at a time, with an arm only getting rest while the other works. I’ve always preferred these to Dumbbell Lat Raises, such a better pump and deeper ROM.

Captain’s Chair Leg Raises – 3 sets of 10

Hammer Strength Ab Crunch Machine – 3 sets of 8

Full Body Stretching.

Steady Walk – 40 minutes.

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Alright, you Goonies, I’ll see you guys tomorrow for some Pull Day action that’ll get us in Sloth mode. Sloth Love Pull Day.

Leave a Reply

