Powerbuilding Routine – Day 19 – Push Day A – Chest, Shoulders, Triceps – Plus, Some Random Tip Action

columbobenchGreetings, all.

The Man Movie Encyclopedia – Robocop. Brand new issue of the MME is up, if you read it and dig it, lemme know, I love to hear from the readers.

Before we get to the workout I just wanted to go over a few points that I hope you cats are doing.

1 – Don’t always rely on compound movements for things like Forearms, Triceps & Biceps. If you’re a beginner, then by all means. But when you start getting more than a year or two under your belt, make sure you start to devote time to each arm by themselves. For those who don’t know, I’ve been serious about working out for almost 5 years now, and for the first 3 & 1/2 years I only used machines, and only went compound. As a result, my right bicep & triceps are some what bigger than my left.
Within the last 3 months or so though I’ve taken a lot of steps towards hitting them by themselves, and that really seems to be helping. No matter how good your form is, you’re always going to have a dominant side, and often times it’ll help out the weaker side when doing a compound lift. So, just make sure you’re getting a lot of dumbbells in there, or uni-lateral machines that work each arm individually.

2 – Trade off between sitting & standing. I rarely see people doing their Over-Head Presses standing. Matter of fact, I never see it, and that’s a damn shame. There are fewer things better than doing a standing OHP. Now, you may not be able to use as much weight, but it brings your ENTIRE body into the lift. You feel it in your toes, and if it’s heavy enough, you’ll be able to feel your teeth giving you help. It helps to tighten up that core. Now, when it comes to things like Shoulder Lateral Raises, you always see people doing these standing. One reason being is that they can hoist heavy weight here, because for some reason guys love to take some 40lb dumbbells and throw them around with zero form. Don’t. Instead, grab a fair amount of weight, and sit down with those bad boys. These really isolate the middle delt, and even brings the traps into the game.

3 – Train your abs. I know this sounds like quite the ‘duh’, but I’m more speaking to my fellow members of the Fat Buff County. I never bothored because you can’t see them. Well, I’ve recently learned how dumb that sort of thinking was. Your core is damn essential in a ton of lifts, if not all lifts. Once I started giving them a lot more attention 6 weeks ago, lifts like my Squat & Dead have improved a hell of a lot more than they normally would, and I feel far more steady.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Flat Bench: 235×3, 255×3, 3, 3, 225×4 120seconds RP.
SUPERSET WITH
Machine Bench: 180×10

The Machine Bench set is done immediately after the final Flat Bench set. I love the Machine Bench because you get a great contraction in the chest and it hits the triceps really well too.

Dumbbell Overhead Press – 45×8, 10, 10, 60sec RP.

Man, I love doing these. I remember getting like 4 reps with 50lb dumbbells and being ecstatic a few years ago, and next week I’ll be doing sets of 10. Which just goes to show that you can’t be discouraged when you see a guy hoisting weight that’s double your max or something ridiculous. Just keep at it, don’t let up, and before you know it the gym will have to special order dumbbells just for you, and they’ll keep’em in some sorta double-lead lined safe where people have to wear HazMat suits to get because of the sheer testosterone that radiates off of them.

Dips – bodyweight of 260×8, 6, 8,, 78lbs off via the Dip Machine x 10,  60sec RP.

One of the all time greatest exercises, as it helps to build your shoulders, triceps, and chest. But please be careful when you do these bad boys and don’t deep too low, you can injure your rotator cuff, and I even knew a guy who ripped his pec clean off his chest. Ouchie.

Cable Flyes – 25×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

For these I set the cable station’s arms up one notch above a neutral level. When you bring your hands together, make sure your arms are straight as possible to get the biggest contraction.

Single Arm Triceps Rope Pressdown – 40×10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

I tie a not in the triceps rope, so it doesn’t slide around the middle piece. Also, I stand back from the stack as opposed to up close, I feel like there’s more contraction. An arm only gets rest when the other is working.

Skullcrushers Machine – 60×10, 10, 10, 30sec RP

Love this machine as it gives a fantastic squeeze in the triceps and really works the upper part of the tris.

Seated Shoulder Lateral Raise – 15×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10x Till failure, 7.5x Till Failure, 5x Till failure, 15second rest.

These make a big difference when you’re seated. It really brings in the traps & rear delts as I mentioned up above. To add some more intensity to these, immediately after the last set I did a drop set, grabbing the 10s and going until failure, then grabbed the 7.5s, followed by the 5s and did the same. It gave me a really deep burn in my middle delt, traps, and rear delts. I recommend giving this shoulder set a try next time you’re working them, and seeing for yourself.

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes. I simply aim to burn 100 calories, and I’ve been reaching it within 15 minutes lately.

Post-Workout: 40g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Glutamine, 5g of Creatine.

Alright, you beautiful people, I’m out of here for the day. I’ll see you Thundercats tomorrow for some Pull Day action sure to scare the hell outta Mumrah.

Leave a Reply

