Powerbuilding Workout – Day 22 – Push Day B – Shoulders, Chest, Triceps, Calves, Abs

franco_columbu006Greetings, all.

Podcast day, so it’s a late update, which means it’s a cheap update, and it’ll just be the workout.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Over-Head Press – 150×3, 160×3, 170×4, 135×4, 120sec RP.
As Many Quality Reps As Possible – 95×10

For the last 3 weeks I’ve been staying at 170lbs, not wanting to move up until I get the 3 reps clean, with perfect form, no major struggle. Starting 3 weeks ago, I barely got 170 for 3, and each week things have been getting easier. Today, I not only got 3 reps, clean as a sheet, but I got a 4th rep. So, now I’m able to move up 5lbs. I seriously doubt it’s gonna stay at a 5lb increase per month, but it’d be nice. I’ll be more than satisfied when I hit 185.

However, what’s real nice, is when you have your working weight up on the squat rack for OHP, and a friend comes by and says “So, you’re working legs today?”. Nope. What most squat, I press over the head like Superman, baby!

Incline Dumbbell Bench – 60×8, 65×8, 70×8. 60sec RP.

The number obviously represents the weight of each dumbbell in my hand. I went at a slower pace to make it a bit more difficult, because I’m terrible at getting these damn things up, and didn’t want to destroy myself trying to. Make sure you guys bring these together at the top, absolute best thing for pec development I believe.

Close Grip Bench Press – 135×10, 10, 10, 60sec RP.

At the top of each rep I flex the triceps.

Machine Flyes – 145×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

Man, these things absolutely burn like I’m the worst version of the Human Torch ever and when I say “FLAME ON!”, my pecs just burn. I stomp my feet like a petulant child when the burn really kicks in. It’s quite the site. Always remember to make sure your arms are straight when your hands come together.

Rope Skull Crushers – 100×10, 80×10, 10, 30sec RP.

I tried 100lb initially, but there was no way I was gonna recoup within 30 seconds. Absolutely love these.

Single Arm Triceps Rope Pressdown – 30×10, 10, 10, 10,

The only rest an arm got was when the other was in action. I really recommend these bad boys, as the squeeze you get is fantastic, and I also get a hell of a pump. Basically, just set up the triceps rope, tie either the right or left side of it in a knot, then grab the rope and have a go. No joke, the pump is so great, I often times have problems just bending my arm.

Standing Cable Lateral Raises – 7.5×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10,20sec RP.

Like the Triceps Rope Pressdowns, these are done one arm at a time, with an arm only getting rest while the other works. I do it that way for 2 sets per arm in a row, take a 20 second break, then repeat until all 6 sets are done.

Calf Raise – 225×7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 7, 30sec RP

Hammer Strength Ab Crunch Machine – 5 sets of 8

Full Body Stretching.

Steady Walk – 60 minutes.

Post-Workout: 40g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

I feel damn good after hitting the 170lb for 4 reps on the OHP, and then someone asking me if I was working legs, as he looked at the weight and thought “Yup, that’s squat weight, no one, at least no mortal man, is pushing that over-head”. But ah-ha! Anyway, I’ll see the rest of you Avengers tomorrow for some awesome Pull Day action.

Leave a Reply

