Powerbuilding Workout – Day 25 – Push Day A – Chest, Shoulders, Triceps

arnoldshouldersGreetings, all.

Well, I’m happy to report that I’m a-OK after almost crushing myself with 300lbs the other day squatting. A friend of mine asked if this means I’m gonna back off from squatting, and my answer was a resounding ‘no’. This incident didn’t scare me, it made me mad. I was so close to that 300lbs, and like hell I’m stopping now.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Flat Bench: 240×3,  260×2, 245×4, 5, 260×3, 3-5 minute RP.
SUPERSET WITH
Machine Bench: 195×10

I’ve decided to start working at the bench with an attempt to get 3 sets of 5, and then a final set of 3, but with 15 extra pounds. It’d be real neat to bust out 3 sets of 5 at 275.

Dumbbell Overhead Press – 47.5×10, 50×10, 10, 60sec RP.

Sadly enough, I never see people doing these while standing, and even when they’re sitting they aren’t moving much weight at all, nor is their form much to brag about. I prefer to rock these standing up for a variety of reasons. One of them is that you build up a lot of stabilizer muscles, along with your lower back & abs, due to them keeping you in place. Another is that you also build up muscle trying to clean those bastards into position, which I believe is safer and offers more benefits than simply sitting down and doing it.

Dips – bodyweight of 260×8, 6, 8,, 78lbs off via the Dip Machine x 10,  60sec RP.

One of the all time greatest exercises, as it helps to build your shoulders, triceps, and chest. But please be careful when you do these bad boys and don’t dip too low, you can injure your rotator cuff, and I even knew a guy who ripped his pec clean off his chest. I go down until my arms are bent at a 90 degree angle, or pretty close.

Cable Flyes – 27.5×10, 10, 10, 22.5×10, 10, 30sec RP.

For these I set the cable station’s arms up one notch above a neutral level. When you bring your hands together, make sure your arms are straight as possible to get the biggest contraction.

Skullcrushers Machine – 60×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10 30sec RP

Love this machine as it gives a fantastic squeeze in the triceps and really works the upper part of the tris. Every now and then I like to take a lift I don’t do that often, and do a lot of sets with a lot of reps to give the area a great pump & shock.

Seated Shoulder Lateral Raise – 15×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10x Till failure, 7.5x Till Failure, 5x Till failure, 15second rest.

Man, do these freaking things hurt or what. If you only tend to do your Lateral Raises while standing, then I’m telling you to give these a shot. You get such a better isolation of the muscles, and a much deeper burn.

Stair Master – 7 minutes. Working my way up to a respectable time, which I freely admit is not an easy task whatsoever. Climbing stairs is freaking brutal.

Incline Cardio – 10 minutes.

Post-Workout: 40g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Glutamine, 5g of Creatine.

Alright, beautiful people, I’m outta here. I’ll see you cats tomorrow for some Pull Day action.

Leave a Reply

