Powerbuilding Workout – Day 26 – Pull Day A – Back, Biceps, Traps, Forearms, Abs

arnold-blueprint_day19_graphics-1Greetings, all.

Before we get down to the business of getting down, I wanted to throw out the link for the latest issue of the Man Movie Encyclopedia that I’ve written. This week we take a look at the burliest film of all time, Predator. Hope you guys dig it.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

RP = Rest Period.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

Rack-Pulls [bar below the knee] – 210×3, 245×3, 265×3, 295×3, 3-5min RP.

I chalk up once I get to 265lb, and I’m at a love/hate relationship point with chalk at this point. It helps with the grip immensely, it’s assist abilities are no joke. However that shit absolutely drys out my skin like crazy. I mean, I chalk up, do the lift, and then like 10 seconds later my hands feel like they just choose poorly when it comes to the Holy Grail.

Hammer Strength Reverse Grip Pulldown – 160×10, 200×8, 8. 60sec RP.

Remember, don’t do all that lame short range of motion crap that everyone does. Let your arms go up until you feel that deep stretch in your lats, because that flips the switch, and helps your lats to grow all the way down to your waist. It feels damn good to be moving 200lbs for sets of 8. It’ll probably be another 6 months to a year before I’m repping out bodyweight chin-ups, but it’ll be damn worth it.

Sitting Cable Row – 105×10, 120×11, 11 60sec RP.

These are a classic, done since pretty much the invention of machine oriented bodybuilding. I tend to attach two handles, so when it gets close to my abs I can pull the handles apart to get an even deeper pull. I also flex at the top of each rep.

Hammer Strength Standing Shrugs – 210×10, 10, 10, 10. 30sec RP.

When I do these bad boys, I hold at the top for a count of 2 to 3. A lot of people just go as fast as they can, and thus their traps are about as impressive as the traps Batman & Robin use to get in during the ’66 TV series. Next time you’re training traps, do some shrugs, around 5 sets, 10 reps per set, and pause at the top for a decent count, they’re gonna feel pretty beat up afterwards and you’ll see the difference.

Dumbbell Lawnmower Starter – 20×10, 10, 10, 30sec RP

What you do with these bad boys is grab a dumbbell, and act like you’re starting a lawnmower. I know, it sounds sort of ridiculous, but I was doing some reading up at T-Nation regarding Trap training, and this was one of the suggested movements. I could really feel it deep in my traps, so it’s gonna become a staple.

Cable Flex Curls – 50x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10. 30sec RP.

Best bicep peak builders in the business, baby. If you guys have problems with your bicep peaks, then give these bad-boys a shot, twice a week for 6 weeks, and I guarantee you’ll see a difference. Just make sure the cable attachment is above your shoulders, and not parallel with your arms.

Preacher Dumbbell Curls – 15×10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

The only rest an arm gets is when the other is working.

Rear Delt Fly Machine – 75×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 15sec RP

Forearm Rollers – 10lb plate for 3 sets of up/down.

Reverse Barbell Curls With A Thumbless Grip – 40×10, 8, 8, 30sec RP

Hammer Strength Ab Machine – 55×8, 8, 8

Captain’s Chair Leg Raises – 3 sets of 10.

Standard Walk – 40 minutes.

Post-Workout: 50g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

If you cats are lagging with the forearms, simply buy, or make a Forearm Roller and get to it. That bugger is a machine, and gives you a burn like you wouldn’t believe. Then simply tack on some Thumbless Reverse Curls afterward, and soon you’ll be packing Fivearms. HA! See, that’s why I get the big bucks.

I’ll see you cats tomorrow for a return to the squat rack after it tried to kill me the other day. Just like Rocky 4, baby. Gonna be driving in my Porsche having flashbacks of the squat trying to end my career, knowing there’s no easy way out. Dig it.

Leave a Reply

