Powerbuilding Workout – Day 30 – Push Day A – Chest, Shoulders, Triceps – Plus, Women At The Gym Should Dress Like Monks

arnoldshouldersGreetings, all.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, women who come to the gym need to dress like monks. I’m so serious. The majority of the women who come to the gym are very attractive. I mean, they dress like superheroes. Everything is very form fitting. Then they start with the squats, and the Stiff-Legged Deadlfts, and the stretching, and all sorts of other awesomeness.
Meanwile, I’m doing my absolute best to not be a creep. However, I have to steal glances because, hey, there’s an attractive woman within the distance, and it’s nature’s law. And I can’t just glance in your direction, no, I have to pull some super-secret, Ocean’s 11 kinda plan to make this happen. I’m talkin like I have a blueprint of the gym, and I’m sitting there with a T-square and a geometer meter figuring all out these crazy angles in which if I stare at a mirror at point A, it’ll be bouncing off point F, which is catching the reflection from the Hammer Strength Incline Bench Press that she’s working out near. Then, if I end up near her, I look like an even bigger weirdo because I’ll be standing there doing barbell curls, with my neck cranked a full 180 degrees from where she is, practically breaking my neck to avoid being ‘that guy’.

So, attractive women who work out, I implore you, please, dress like a monk when you’re at the gym. Or a zombie. Something. Anything but who you are.

Alright, before we get to the workout, I’ve got a new 411 article for you guys. Today I sit down with some of the cats from 411Mania and we talk about our Top 5 Movies About Movies. Dig it.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Flat Bench: 225×4, 245×4, 5, 5, 265×2, 3-5 minutes RP.
SUPERSET WITH
Machine Bench: 210×10

With the Flat Bench I’m aiming to do 3 sets at 5 reps a piece, and the final set 20lbs heavier and hit 3. I think I could have hit that first set of 245 for 5, but I was trying out a new hand placement that seemed to work just fine with the lighter weights, but when I went heavier I didn’t have as much push. The machine bench is done immediately after the 265lb set, and I count for a second at the top of the contraction.

Dumbbell Overhead Press – 50×10, 10, 10, 60sec RP.

I always recommend doing these standing. It brings your whole body into it by needing to stabilize you, and your core comes into play a lot too. Plus, it’s easier on the body getting that weight up by Cleaning it into position, as opposed to trying the whole ‘pass-it-to-yourself-with-your-knees’ routine.

Dips – bodyweight of 260×8, 8, 9, 60sec RP.

I remember when I started lifting years ago, I couldn’t do a dip to save my life. So I’d just do the negative portions. So, if you guys are having trouble with those, just give the negatives a shot, or use the Dip Asst machine. Also remember not to go too low, I say lower yourself until your arms are close to 90 degrees or so, then come back up.

Cable Flyes – 20×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

I’ve switched the cable-arm placement so now it’s like doing Incline Flyes.

Tricep Over-Head Extension Machine – 70×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

I really dig just bombarding a certain lagging muscle group with high reps & sets with short rest periods. This is a great machine that gives you an excellent stretch, and hits the triceps up-high.

Seated Shoulder Lateral Raise – 15×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 12.5x Till Failure, 10x Till failure, 7.5x Till Failure, 5x Till failure, 15second rest.

These make a big difference when you’re seated. It really brings in the traps & rear delts. To add some more intensity to these, immediately after the last set I did a drop set, grabbing the 12.5s and going until failure, then grabbed the 10s, followed by the 7.5s and did the same before polishing it off with the 5s. It gave me a really deep burn in my middle delt, traps, and rear delts. I recommend giving this shoulder set a try next time you’re working them, and seeing for yourself.

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes. I simply aim to burn 100 calories, and I’ve been reaching it within 15 minutes lately.

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Glutamine, 5g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

I’m back on the Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, which I believe is hands down the best out there. I’ll see you, the hippest cats out there, tomorrow for some Pull Day A action. If I do say so myself, hell yeah.

Leave a Reply

