Powerbuilding Workout – Day 31 – Pull Day A – Lats, Spinal Erectors, Biceps, Rear Delts, Abs

pull-ups-ve-chin-upsGreetings, all.

New issue of the Man Movie Encyclopedia is out, this week I hit the beaches to hang with Bodhi and the gang and talk Point Break, baby.

Also, I signed up for Instagram. I’ll be doing my best to post relevant things that hopefully at least somewhat interesting a couple times a day. You can find me there same as my twitter, which is @CaliberWinfield.

IMG_20150606_053039This sucker was getting thrown out, so I thought I’d give it the ol’ school strongman try. I held it in the ‘Head Crusher’ position, as opposed to against my leg. I just gave it one go, and that’s what I got. If I kept on going, I bet I could have eventually bent that sucker in half. It wasn’t easy, I’ll tell you that. That sucker was thick. Basically, occasionally you should grab something and try to ruin it with your bare hands. It’s dumb, it’s caveman [or cavewoman, if you will], but it’s a lot of fun and makes you feel like you should be on Venice Beach in an old school swim-suit with a handle-bar mustache. Dig it.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

Rack-Pulls [bar below the knee] – 225×3, 245×3, 265×3, 295×3, 3-5min RP.

I’m talking it super slow with the Rack-Pull progression. I’m going up 10lbs a month. Now that I’m nearing 300lbs for reps, the progression isn’t happening as fast, and these bad boys will wreck you if you’re not careful.

Hammer Strength Reverse Grip Pulldown – 165×10, 205×8, 9. 60sec RP.

I feel like I’m digging a hole, looking for the buried treasure. But instead of treasure, it’s the goal of doing a clean-ass body-weight pull-up rep. I’m doing reps at 205, so 260lb has to be close. Remember to do these bad boys with a full range of motion, and all other pull-down exercises. Feel the stretch in your lats, and don’t do that short-range crap like most suckers.

Sitting Cable Row – 120×12, 135×10, 10, 60sec RP.

These are a classic, done since pretty much the invention of machine oriented bodybuilding. I tend to attach two handles, so when it gets close to my abs I can pull the handles apart to get an even deeper pull. I also flex at the top of each rep.

Hammer Strength Standing Shrugs – 180×8, 10, 10, 10. 30sec RP.

OK, for the first set I was watching the clock. At the top of the rep, I held for a 3 second count, which wasn’t very easy. I did that for the first set, and the following ones I held it for a second, because that first set was a killer.

Cable Lawnmower Starter – 30×10, 10, 10, 30sec RP

Just set a handle to the cable attachment and place it at the bottom, then pull on it like you’re starting a lawn mower.

Cable Flex Curls – 50x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10. 30sec RP.

Best bicep peak builders in the business, baby. If you guys have problems with your bicep peaks, then give these bad-boys a shot, twice a week for 6 weeks, and I guarantee you’ll see a difference. Just make sure the cable attachment is above your shoulders, and not parallel with your arms.

Preacher Dumbbell Curls – 20×10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

The only rest an arm gets is when the other is working.

Rear Delt Fly Machine – 75×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 15sec RP

If you have anything that’s lagging, I highly suggest doing 6 sets or so of around 10 reps each with very little rest. It’s real intense, and beats the area into submission.

Hammer Strength Ab Machine – 55×8, 8, 8, 8, 8

Standard Walk – 40 minutes.

Post-Workout: 50g of Whey Isolate, 5g of Creatine, 5g of Glutamine.

Alright, buckshots, I’ll see you guys tomorrow for the first Leg Day of the week, gonna see how I do with 265 on the squat.

Leave a Reply

