Powerbuilding Workout Routine – Day 39 – Push Day B – Shoulders, Upper Chest, Triceps, Abs

PushDayBGreetings, all.

You know, a while ago I said to my friend that I think one of the reasons I’m able to continually make gains is due to the fact I can name every single Mr. Olympia, in order. He, being a smart ass, shot back with “Yeah, I went and read Franco Columbu’s wikipedia page and could instantly bench-press a bus!”.

My statement sounds weird, but lemme explain. When I look around my gym, or you look around your gym, you see far more people with very average gains, constantly working with the same weight, than you see people who are constantly improving. Approach one of the average guys and ask him who holds the most Mr. Olympia titles. Or who Eugene Sandow is, or Ed Coan. See if they can tell you the difference between Heavy-Duty/High Intensity Training and something like Stronglifts. They won’t be able to. But then ask the guy who’s there 5-6 days a week, that’s improving, that’s setting & hitting their PRs, and they’re gonna know this information.

Now, I’m not saying “simply learn who Larry Scott is and you’ll have biceps like him!”. What I mean is, and it’s something I’ve said plenty of times, but if you truly want to succeed in fitness, or hell, anything in life, you have to LIVE IT. You’ve gotta soak it all up, learn it all. I’m passionate about bodybuilding & powerlifting. I’m always learning about this event, or that lifter, or that supplement, or this routine. Then, the more you learn, well, the more you learn. I read up about Larry Scott, and I say “Man, he has the best biceps I’ve ever seen”, and later in the article you read that he was a huge believer in doing Preacher Curls, or what became known as Scott Curls, so then you adapt that to your training.

Really, if you simply lift because you enjoy it, and don’t care about making constant progress, and simply remaining where you are, that’s fine. But if you want more, if you want to go above & beyond, if you want to kick average right in the face, then live and breathe this. Read about those who came before you, read about different techniques, theories, and routines. Watch some documentaries on youtube. I absolutely guarantee that if you put more of your heart & mind into this, you’re going to get a lot more out of it. First things first, go to the gym wearing a pair of those cool foam Hulk-fists that make noise when you punch them against things, show from the jump that you’re dedicated.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Over-Head Press – 135×5, 8, 10, 145×5, 3 Minute RP.
As Many Quality Reps As Possible – 95×10

So, when it came to the OHP, I was going super heavy. I was getting my goals, but my form was a bit sloppy, which isn’t safe, and my rest periods were like 5-6 minutes. I wanted to take it down to where I was still gonna build my strength, but perfect my form and keep the rest periods a little shorter. I decided to go to 135lb. I hit the first set and thought “Huh, I could have done more. Well, we’ll see on the next set”. Boom, I got 8, then kicked myself because I thought getting 10 would be awesome. So, next set, I got 10, which felt great. I remember about a year ago when 135 was the mountain, and I was barely able to snag 3 reps.

Incline Dumbbell Bench – 60×8, 8, 8. 60sec RP.

I know the weight isn’t very heavy here, but busting your ass when it comes to OHP wears you the hell out. Plus, I absolutely suck at getting the dumbbells into place, so when I can go lighter, it’s less chance of screwing myself up. Also, I went much slower than usual with these, and squeezed at the top of the contraction. 100%, absolutely, no question about it, dumbbell bench is the best thing for building your chest.

Close Grip Bench Press – 145×10, 10, 10, 60sec RP.

Lock out at the top for each rep, as it puts the most pressure on the triceps.

Machine Flyes – 155×10, 10,10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

When doing these, remember to make your arms straight at the top of the lift, much better contraction. I have to confess, I’m one of those cats who when doing flyes and it really starts to burn, I stomp my feet like a 5 year old.

 Cable Skullcrushers – 70×10, 50×10, 40×10, 40×10, 30×10

I love these bad boys. I prefer these to the kind done with a barbell.

Single-Arm Tricep Rope Pulldown – 30×10, 8, 7, 5

The only rest an arm got was when the other was working. Do these as a follow up, when you already have a pump in the triceps, and you’ll feel these like crazy. The pump was so strong after these two exercises, I had a problem bending my arms enough to write in my notebook.

Standing Cable Lateral Raises – 7.5×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10,15sec RP.

These were done one arm at a time. I did 4 sets in a row, rested about 20 seconds and did the last two sets. The pump was brutal. I know it goes without saying, but the only rest an arm gets is when the other is working.

Ab Chair Machine – 100lbs of resistance, 4 sets of 8.

Ab-X – I dunno, it’s that thing you lay down in, and then put your feet up, grab the arms, and start crunching forward. It’s basically the most comfortable way to do a crunch, and I feel the safest for your body. Anyways, I do about 4 sets of 8.

Steady Walk – 40 minutes.

Post-Workout: 30g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Leave a Reply

