Powerbuilding Workout Routine – Day 48 – Push Day A – Chest, Shoulders, Triceps – Plus, A Damn Fine Intensity Technique

PushDayAGreetings, all.

Before we get to the main event, I wanted to talk to you cats about perhaps the greatest intensity technique that will jump start some progress, and it’s called Pre-Exhaust.

Here’s how it goes. Pick a body-part,  for this instance we’ll go with chest. OK, what you do then is a set of Chest Flyes, immediately followed by Bench Press, or the Chest Press. If we’re talking lats, then you’d do a set of Dumbbell Pullovers, or Straight Arm Pulldowns, and immediately follow that with Lat or Reverse-Grip Pulldowns.

What happens here is you do an isolation movement, like Chest Flyes, and do a set until almost failure, then immediately superset it with the Chest Press, a compound movement, and do that until almost failure. So, the isolation movement has fatigued your pecs, and then the compound movement uses things like your forearms, biceps, triceps and shoulders to push your pecs past the point of failure, and give it no choice but to grow. 3 or 4 sets like this, and I absolutely guarantee you’ll be sore as hell the next few days.

If you decide to implement this type of training, I suggest only using machines. You have to push yourself pretty hard and pretty far. So the machines will keep your form in check, and also keep you from getting hurt, like dropping something on yourself when your chest gives out.

I use to do this style of training a lot, and I tell you, it hurts. Of course, I’d go past the point of failure, doing forced reps and things like that. Something I wouldn’t advise for you guys. But give 3 or 4 sets a shot, and don’t go to failure.

If anyone gives this a shot, let me know what you think.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Flat Bench: 235×4,4,4, 3-5 minutes RP.
SUPERSET WITH
Machine Bench: 240×7

I’m working on a new Strength Training regimen that lasts over 4 weeks. The first week you do your standard 3 sets of 5. The next week, using the same weight, you take 5 seconds to lower it, and then right back up. The week after you unrack, hold for a 2 count, take it to the middle, hold for 2, then hold for 2 at the bottom before going back up. The final week is you do what you did on the 3rd week, only on the lifting portion. After that, you jump up about 10lbs.
Today was the ‘hold for a count of 2’ portion, and it really wasn’t easy. However, I can feel this definitely making me stronger, and I’m stoked to see how well it works when I get into the big numbers.

Standing Dumbbell Overhead Press – 50×8, 52.5×8, 8, 60sec RP.

I have a total love affair with these, always have. I had a DR tell me I had one of the thickest shoulder areas he’s ever felt, and I 100% believe it’s that way because of all the pressing that I do. Now, when it starts to get heavy most people will sit down for these, to that I say hogwash. Cleaning these bad-boys into position is all part of it, and is just  going to put more muscle on you. Also, when you stand it brings the back, the abs, and the legs into it. You can’t go wrong.

Dips – bodyweight of 260×10,10,10, 60sec RP.

One of the all time greatest exercises, as it helps to build your shoulders, triceps, and chest. But please be careful when you do these bad boys and don’t deep too low, you can injure your rotator cuff, and I even knew a guy who ripped his pec clean off his chest. Ouchie. Also, I tend to lean forward a bit so that way it involves the pecs more.

Standing Cable Incline Flyes – 20×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

Set the arms low to the ground, and then make the handles meet about or a little above face level, like you’re doing a dual-Ryu Dragon Uppercut. SHOYUKEN! Make sure to squeeze the pecs too. This move always puts so much blood into my chest that it feels like it’s gonna pop, I love it.

Tricep Rope Pressdown – 70×12, 8, 60×7, 50×6, 30×10
SUPERSET WITH
Tricep Rope Pull-In – 40×8, 30×9, 8, 6, 8

This superset creates a massive pump, and triceps is an area I always love to superset with.

Seated Shoulder Lateral Raise – 15×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10x Till failure, 7.5x Till Failure, 5x Till failure, 15second rest.

These make a big difference when you’re seated. It really brings in the traps & rear delts as I mentioned up above. To add some more intensity to these, immediately after the last set I did a drop set, grabbing the 10s and going until failure, then grabbed the 7.5s, followed by the 5s and did the same. It gave me a really deep burn in my middle delt, traps, and rear delts. I recommend giving this shoulder set a try next time you’re working them, and seeing for yourself. Matter of fact, my traps have clearly grown, and I contribute a good part of that to these.

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes. I simply aim to burn 100 calories, and I’ve been reaching it within 15 minutes lately.

Post-Workout: 50g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Leave a Reply

