Powerbuilding Routine – Day 51 – Push Day B – Shoulders, Chest, Triceps – Plus, Your Boy Hit A New PR

PushDayBGreetings, all.

I smashed a new PR this morning, good people.

185OHPThis morning I went in for some rocking Push Day B action, when my goal of 185lb for a single, strict OHP started floating through my head. 185lb has been my marker for almost a year. I remember when 120 was a death sentence, and a year ago when I hit 135 and felt like Hercules.
So, I started my warm up, which is pretty thorough, and when I hit 165 for a triple, I thought it felt pretty heavy, which sort of effected my focus. I thought for sure that if I did hit 185lb for a single, it was going to be one hell of a fight.
A friend of mine came in and as embarrassing as it is to do, I asked him to take the picture if I hit the PR. So, I strapped up, and got under that sucker. I was nervous, real nervous. I grabbed the bar, stepped back, and started to push up. To my surprise, I was able to get that sucker up with EASE. I couldn’t believe it. I mean, it was heavy, but I didn’t struggle to get that monster up. Once there, I held it long enough to snap the picture and then slowly set it down. The crazy thing is, I know, I KNOW that I could have nailed a second rep, which absolutely blew my mind. Also, this was with ZERO leg drive, zero. Absolute, 100% strict form.
I felt like I was on top of the World after this, and always do after hitting a new PR. Thus why I stress the importance of setting them, and working your ass off to achieve them. You feel like an absolute world beater, and it’s a feeling lie none-other. So, set a goal, then ride down on lightening bolt and smash it.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 2 scoops of C&C Muscle Milk, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Over-Head Press – 185×1, 135×4, 3, 3-5 Minute RP.
As Many Quality Reps As Possible – 95×12

This is where I did my 185, baby. For those who’ve been reading, I started a new strength training method. This week, on the lowering portion you lower a bit, count to 2, get to the halfway point, count to 2, hit the bottom and count to 2, then head back up. I’ve been digging the hell out of all these different lifting styles, and since I smashed the hell out of the 185 today, I’d say it’s been working.

Incline Dumbbell Bench – 60×8, 8, 8. 60sec RP.

Dumbbell Bench, be it flat, incline, decline, are monstrously awesome. If you guys haven’t done them before, then you absolutely have to. My pecs got a hell of a lot better when I started focusing on Flat Dumbbell Bench a while ago. I also don’t go super heavy on the Incline Dumbbell, because A: I suck at getting those stupid things up, and B: I like to do nice, slow reps to really burn the hell out of the muscles.

Machine Dips – 223×8, 9, 10, 60sec RP.

Dips are the best compound movement for your triceps in your boy’s opinion, so I decided to swap out Close Grip Bench for a while. My chest & tris were dead at this point after the Dumbbell Bench.

Cable Flyes – 12.5×10, 17.510,10, 10, 10, 30sec RP.

I’ve decided to switch to Cable Flyes for a while because I’ve been doing Machine Flyes for going on at least a year. Also, with Cable Flyes you can cross your arms at the top, which really shortens the pecs and immensely helps with development.

Straight Bar Tricep Push Down – 90×10, 120×10, 10, 10, 10, 30sec RP

Single Arm Sideways Tricep Pulldown – 30×10, 10, 10, 10, 30sec RP

With these, you set up at a standard cable station, with the cable set up at the top as usual. Attach a simple handle, like one you’d use if you were gonna do Bicep Curls. Face the weight stack, then turn to your side, grab the handle with whatever hand is farthest from the weight stack, then pull your hand down to your side. It gets really deep into the triceps, and is something I’d never done until today. I really dug it, and think you cats should give it a shot.

Giant Rope – 4 sets, 60sec RP.

You guys know those giant ropes you see people whipping? That’s what it was. I’ve heard it’s great for shoulders, so I subbed it out today for the Cable Lateral Raises I normally do, but I think next time I’ll just simply add them in. They worked great, and really gave me a deep burn in the delts. The way I could count a set would just be to grab the rope [it’s wrapped around a column, so it creates two] with both hands, and just whip until the burn was too much. Then rest 60 seconds and go again.

Med Ball Catch & Slam – 5 sets.

Crunch Machine – 4 sets of 10

Steady Walk – 40 minutes.

Post-Workout: 50g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Leave a Reply

