Powerbuilding Routine – Day 55 – Leg Day – Hamstring Focused, Calves – Plus, Don’t Fit-Shame Yourself

BololegdayGreetings, all.

So, I was browsing the facebook page of my favorite fitness site, T-Nation.com, and there was a meme that said “Curvy. Fat girls, I do not think this word means what you think it means”, you know, like the quote from Princess Bride regarding the word “inconceivable”. OK, so it’s funny. Just a harmless joke in regards to how fat girls like to label themselves curvy [and from all the dating profiles I’ve seen it’s true], when that term is reserved for people like Nicki Minaj, Nicole Austin, Christina Hendricks, girls who have boobs and ass, but are still in shape.

Of course, there were a ton of people who got in this MASSIVE outrage about it. Saying that T-Nation were being bullies, assholes, and giving women image issues. The biggest proprietor of this bullshit stance was a guy whose facebook photo was him wearing a hat that said “Fuck Everything”. Alright, there’s your leader, SJWs.

Here’s my question, if this had been on some sorta “Being Fat Is Awesome” facebook account, and someone posted a meme of a guy in shape and it said “Yeah, I could look like that, but I don’t like to wake up early, plan my meals like a Nazi, be at the gym 4 hours a day, not have a social life, and spend my money on useless supplements. I like to enjoy my life!”. Everyone would be posting “LOL!” and having quite a laugh. There would be no one screaming about how they were being bullies, assholes, or giving people in shape image issues.

I occasionally get shit from my friends, or people on facebook because I post a lot of photos of me in the gym, or posing, or talking about a PR I hit, or the fact I go sleeveless sometimes. I also know of other people who do the same, and have thus come to feel bad about posting things like that, as if they’re bragging, or shaming others. Now, I don’t swear on this website much, because I like to keep it PG-13 in case of young readers, or people who don’t dig swearing, but bare with me with what I’m about to say.

FUCK THAT AND FUCK ANYONE WITH A PROBLEM ABOUT US BEING FIT.

I’m sick to absolute death of being in shape considered some sorta bad thing. I’m gonna post more photos and talk about the gym more than ever now. Why? BECAUSE I LOVE IT. Because I bust my ass through discipline and hardwork, because life is movement and I’m living, because I’m blessed with a healthy body that I plan to use to the fullest possible extent and keep it healthy. My 20″ arms, my 50″ chest, my 30″ legs, my 315 bench, my 185 OHP, my 300 bent-over row are all mine because I WORKED for them. I read countless articles, watched countless videos, tweaked and altered things over years and years until they were right, I kept meticulous records through notebooks, pictures and videos, I sacrificed, I bled and I sweat for all of these accomplishments, NONE of which were handed to me. So you’re damn right I’m gonna brag. I’m gonna boast. I’m gonna scream it from the fucking mountain tops.

You know why some of your friends, and other people have a problem with it? Because you’re shaming them without being direct about it. They see that you made the time, you made the effort, and you have the results why they remain some skinny-fat, or plain fat, tub of *yawn* who wishes day in and day out that they could look good and have confidence too, but they simply don’t have the fortitude to do it, so they’re gonna try and make you feel as bad as they do. Well, no way.

Enough of this “fat acceptance”, or constantly having to defend yourself if you say you’re glad you’re not fat. Because guess what, being over-weight is BAD. It does nothing but make your life harder. Bigger clothes cost more. You wear things out more like shoes, beds, sofas and chairs. You can’t be active with your fit friends. You don’t live nearly as long, and along the way to the over-sized grave, you have a flurry of health problems. Is that REALLY how you want to live your life? You don’t want to be around and be healthy for your family & friends? I want you to. I want everyone to be fit and kick-ass, because it would improve their moods greatly, and create a better society. There is NOBODY who was over-weight that lost it with proper eating & exercise that when they became fit said “Oh, this is a personal hell. Man, being fat was SO much better.” Shaming people into doing the right thing saves lives. Instead, we’ve all been taught that we have to salute these people for being brave enough to be “themselves”. Horsecrap. I’ve never met an over-weight person who didn’t try at least a couple of times to diet. So, instead of keep moving forward, they just give up and say it’s because they’ve “accepted” themselves.

Now, there are some people who will read that paragraph up there and say I’m an asshole. That I’m a bully, a jerk. But let me ask you this, if I swapped out the words “fat”, “over-weight” or whatever, and replaced them with “Smoker”, would there be ANY objections? Absolutely not. We’re perfectly fine with bullying one kind of person for the choices they make, so why not another? They’re both unhealthy and they both cause problems for the people around them. Yet you’re a jerk for being against one, and a hero for being against another. It’s so pathetic.

Basically, what I want to say is don’t Fit-Shame yourself. Continue to kick ass, continue to be a credit to your species, and tell anyone who has a problem with how awesome you are to give being awesome themselves a shot and see how quiet they are. We aren’t people who think we’re better than others because we work out, we’re people who bust our asses, day in day out, who have grit and dedication, and we’re damn proud of our results. And whether they like it or not, that’s never gonna change.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 60g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alaklyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 1 scoop of BCAA with a 4:1:1 profile.

RP = Rest Period.

Before we get to it, lemme just say I’ve got some sore traps, so go back tomorrow and read what I did that made’em this way. Let’s get some ski-slope acting going here, buckshots.

CaliberSquat

Squat – 225×3, 245×3,3,3, 120sec RP

I got up to 265 on my squats, but they were getting real heavy, so I decided to re-set and work my way back up from 225. Seriously, these damn things are my nemesis.

Good Morning – 45×8, 55×8, 60×8, 60sec RP

I’m digging these a lot. But if any of you cats give them a shot, be extremely careful, and go super light. Focus on the technique, and don’t get yourself busted up. Hell, Bruce Lee was out of commission for quite a while due to going too heavy on Good Mornings.

Hack Squats – 90×10, 140×10, 145×10, 60sec RP

I’ve subbed out the Leg Press, because I had to load between 8-10 plates, which took forever, man. Plus, the PLLP can wreak real havoc on your hips & lower back if you go real heavy. Hacks are great, and really toast the quads. Plus they help develop a nice sweep to give them width. I see a lot of guys only going half way down, which is unfortunate because you’re missing out on a lot that this exercise can do. Now, if you have knee problems, I can dig, but if not, then get to the full range of motion, buckshots!

Hyper-Extensions – bodyweight of 260lb holding a 20lb dumbbell x10, 10, 10, 10, 15lbx10, 30sec RP.

Holy freaking crap these things are brutal, and I absolutely do not look forward to doing them.

Sitting Leg Curl – 105×10, 10, 10, 10,10, 30sec RP

Standing Calf Raise – 185×5-4-3 for 3 sets.

What 5-4-3 is your first rep you stand at the top and stretch as far as you can, and hold it for a count of 5. Then you do 5 reps immediately afterward. Stop, rest 10 seconds, then repeat only with the number 4, rest for 10 seconds, then finally do the same but with the number 3. That’s a set. Gives you a great burn and toasts the calves.

CaliberCalfRaise
Sitting Calf Raise – 180×10, 8, 8, 8, 60sec RP.

Standing Bodyweight Calf Raise – 4 sets of 20 reps.

Incline Walking – 15 minutes/100 calories

Post-Workout: 60g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Leave a Reply

