Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Round 2 – Day 10 – Strength Based Leg Day – Plus, How to Start Eating To Help Your Goals

StrengthLegDayGreetings, all.

Had a person that I’m training say that it’s difficult to keep eating the right foods. they were wondering if they should just keep the house void of all junk-food.

In my opinion, absolutely not. I don’t like the idea of something controlling your life so badly that you can’t simply do what you want once in a while. A lot of people get so obsessed with losing weight that they believe they can’t have something a bit-off track here and there, and if they do, it completely ruins their day and they stress about it more than most things. I can tell you guys that the stress you put yourselves under regarding whatever you ate is so much worse for your body than just eating it would be. I absolutely guarantee it, as things like cortisol, and blood pressure shoot up when stress takes over the body. It’s literally one of the worst things you can put it through.

Look at it like this, let’ say you eat like crap 24/7. Just day in and day out. Is choosing to have a salad for lunch one day going to make any sort of difference? Of course not. So how will it when you reverse it?

Beyond that, the key I say is habit, and foods you dig. For me, I honestly eat the same things just about every day, at the same time, and have for literally a couple years. Buying them, cooking them, it’s all become 2nd nature to me because I’ve been doing them for so long.

Start small. Add some fruit, be it apple sauce, banana, pears, peaches, whatever to your diet at some point in the day, and try to always eat it at the same time. Then over the course of a few weeks, swap in some better things, things you like, and keep on going. Eventually you’ll have a great eating regimen that’s easy, that you enjoy, and that helps you with your goals. Not too shabby.

And on the flip side, the same goes for bulking. Don’t wake up one day and decide you’re going to eat 5000 calories that day. Start adding 100 calories extra to your day, and then ramp it up every week or two. You gotta stretch your stomach, and get your body use to eating so much, otherwise it’s just going to be a nightmare and you’ll end up quitting on it pretty soon.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: Hour before hand, 24oz of Gatorade, 30g of Whey Isolate. Right before workout, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade, 60g of Whey Isolate.

Squats – 205×5, 5, 5, 5

I couldn’t use the Squat Rack that I normally like, and thus couldn’t get in the groove, and really get the weight up. The rack I used either has the bar too low, or too high, and the weights bang on the posts, which really throws you the hell off.

Rack Pulls – 225×5, 275×5, 315×8

I felt really good with these, despite the squats before hand. 315 for 8 reps is a new PR for me, and I felt damn good about it. It also completely wore me out, thus why I consider the Deadlift the King of all exercises. And also why I prefer Rack Pulls, because it makes the lift a lot safer than your standard Dead.

Cable Leg Press – 330×5, 5, 5, 5, 5

Honestly, I think in a week or two I’ll be able to use the whole weight stack, no problem. Then I’ll have to switch over to the Plate Loaded Press, which I’m not too stoked about. It takes about 9-10 plates per side for me to hit 5 reps or so, and that takes for-damn-ever to load up, plus it wears you out. Oh well, I suppose there’s a lot worse things in life that being strong in the legs.

Sitting Cable Leg Curl – 145×5, 160×5, 5, 5, 7

I could have gone up more than 5lbs here, as my strength is shooting up pretty fast, but I don’t want to start stalling out sooner. I always go nice and slow with this one, giving it a big squeeze at the bottom of the lift, then at the top stopping just before the weight stack touches, so the tension remains on the muscle.

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20-30 minutes after the workout I then have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

