Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Round 2 – Day 15 – Strength Based Pull Day

strengthpulldayGreetings, all.

It’s Sunday, which means there’s a brand new Man Movie Encyclopedia for you cats to dig. This week your boy takes a look at the underrated classic, Cobra.

As we speak, I’m amidst a new bulking plan, eating 3 cups worth of blueberry pancakes [no butter, no syrup], and 3 Jenny Craig breakfast burritos, which are damn fantastic. Right now it’s coming down to the last few pancakes, and I’m stuffed. So it’s doing that thing where the food seems to get bigger and bigger with each bite you take.

Before we get to the action, don’t forget to check out your pal Cal on twitter & instagram @CaliberWinfield.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 20 minutes before hand I have 24oz of Gatorade and 20g of Whey Isolate, plus 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: I sip from two bottles. One containing 36oz of Gatorade, which also contains a scoop of BPI BCAAs, which also has CLA and Glutamine. The other bottle has 40g of Whey Isolate.

Bent-Over Rows – 230×5, 5, 240×5, 7

If I had choose one back exercise to do, it’d be these. They work the lower back & spinal rectors by keeping you in place and bent over, then of course it works the lats and traps. Fantastic stuff that nobody does, but everybody should.

Cable Pulldowns – 180×5, 5, 195×5, 210×7

I’m real stoked, because I’m getting very close to hitting my bodyweight for a few reps. Each week these reps are getting easier, and cleaner. With the 210, the first 4 were solid as a rock, with a bit of body english put on the 5th, and then total cheat reps on the last two to overload the back.

Power Cleans – 135×3, 3, 3, 3

I absolutely love these things. They work your whole body, but really put some emphasis on the traps and I know are one of the reasons why my traps have become bigger & thicker over the last few months. My strength is getting up there too, because I normally have to work up to 135lb. However, 135lb was sitting on the bar when I walked up, and hit it. I’ve decided to stop catching it too. I don’t like the yanking feeling when the weight drops, so I just throw it down.

Cable Curls – 90×5, 100×5, 110×5

Barbell Curls – 95×5, 75×5

The first set was all cheat style, baby. I was trying to find my groove with the proper curls here, as the straight bar tends to make my forearm hurt.

Standing Dumbbell Curls – 40×8

Cable Rear Delt Flyes – 10×12, 12, 12, 12, 7.5xTF, 5XTF

I want a bigger upper back, and I was also doing some reading on the important role that Rear Delts play in terms of injury prevention, muscle balance, and all sorts of great things. So, I try and hit them at least 3 times a week. Now, with the final set of 10 I went fill failure, then just kept dropping the pin and going till failure. Good stuff.

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

