Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Round 2 – Day 18 – Hypertrophy Based Pull Day

hypertrophypulldayGreetings, all.

Busy day for your boy today, so let’s just hop into it. First though, I made a collection of pictures today that I took after my back workout. It’s really coming along, and I’m proud to say it’s probably my best feature.

CaliberBackCollageJuly29th2015Here at Fat Buff INC, we always think 4th dimensionally. Also, I have no idea why it looks like I’m crying in that last picture.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 20 minutes beforehand it’s 24oz of Gatorade, and 20g of Whey Isolate with 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade with 1 scoop of BPI Best BCAA with contains Glutamine and CLA. I also sip from a cup containing 40g of Whey Isolate.

Warm-Up: 5 sets of Straight Arm Pull-Down, flipping between a rope and straight bar attachment.

Hammer Strength Iso-Pulldown: 140×12, 12, 12, 180×12

Probably my favorite pull-down movement for the back. Great squeeze and range of motion.

Sitting Face-Pull w/ Intra-Stretching: 50×12, 12, 12, 12, 30×8

Intra-Stretching is when you take the last set to failure,  then stretch the targeted muscle until you can’t take it anymore. Then set the pin some where else and do it all over again. It’s draining, but it gives you a great pump and really wares out the target muscle.

Wide Grip Pulldown w/ Intra-Stretching & Drop-Sets: 135×12, 12, 12, 12, 90×8, 75×10

My back was shot by the time this was over, because the Intra-Stretching and Drop-Sets are no joke.

One-Arm Dumbbell Row: 50×12, 55×12, 60×12, 12

Dumbbell Preacher: 20×12, 12, 12, 12

For the first two sets, each rep I’d twist my arm so at the bottom of the rep, my palm is facing the ground, then I’d twist it back up into a standard bicep curl and squeeze. Awesome technique, definitely give it a try. Then the last two sets were standard curls. As always, an arm only rested as long as the other was working.

EZ-Bar Cable Curls: 30×30, 15, 15, 30

Barbell Curls: 45×8, 8, 8

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 30 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

