Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Round 2 – Day 23 – Hypertrophy Based Push Day

hypertrophypushdayGreetings, all.

Caliber4platesHit a new PR today, my third for the week. A long while ago I saw a picture of Dorian Yates on an Incline Iso-Press, holding up 4 plates. For some reason, I became obsessed with that and wanted to be able to do the same thing. I kept chasing it but would stall around 3 plates and a 10lb. Well, I stopped using machines for the most and just kept at it with Bar dumbbell.
Well, with all the new gains I’ve been getting, I decided today that I’d give it a shot and see what happens. It’d honestly been about a year since I tried. So, I warm up, and see if I can hit 3 plates and a quarter, or, a 25lb plate if you will. It flies up, zero problem. So I jumped right up, switched out the 25lb for a 45lb, and gave it a go. Now, it didn’t fly up, but it went up with some ease, and I honestly feel that I could have grabbed another rep or two. This goal that was once so massive, had just been beaten, through nothing but some hard-ass work. And that right there is why I love the gym, and why I think everyone should be going there, because you get what you put in, baby.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate with 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade with a scoop of BPI Best Aminos that contains Glutamine and CLA. Another container with 40g of Whey Isolate.

Hammer Strength Incline Press – 180×8, 230×4, 320×1, 360×1

Dumbbell Flat Bench – 80×10, 90×9, 80×8, 60×8

The 60lb one was done about 20-30 seconds after the 80lb one, as I wanted to up the intensity. There are multiple ways to do these, but there are two I switch from. The first is just your standard press, with the dumbbells moving in a straight line. The second is when I touch the two dumbbells together at the top of the lift. That contracts the chest better, and really taxes the hell out of your pecs. It’s fantastic. Also, none of these were dropped afterwards, as I was able to sit up and re-rack’em each time. That’s something you guys should always shoot for, but don’t go and hurt yourself trying to sit up with weight that’s too heavy.

Overhead Dumbbell Press – 40×8, 8, 50×8, 40×8

My shoulders were pretty toast after the heavy Flat Bench, so I didn’t go too crazy with the weight here.

Side-Lateral Raises – 15×10, 10, 10, 10, 10×10, 10

What I did here was the first set I sat down, and at the top of the rep I’d twist the dumbbell and act like I was pouring out water. About 10-15 seconds later I stood up an did a standard set, then I sat down, did the same as the first, then stood, same as the second. Then after the 4th set I immediately did a drop set, then waited.

Machine Skullcrushers – 60×12, 80×8, 70×8, 8

I absolutely love this machine. It keeps your arms perfectly inline, so both arms get equal work. I also let the arms stay in the bottom position in order to get further time under tension.

Calf Raise Over-Head Press – 30×6, 6

For these, I stand facing the Calf Raise Machine, grab the front of the pads, then press it Over-Head. Then on the bottom of the lift, it squeezes the triceps really well, and works the hell out of’em. Give’em a shot.

Single-Arm Triceps Rope Pressdown – 30×10, 10, 10, 10

Love these. They burn like  crazy, but it’s a great burn. The only rest an arm gets is when the other is working.

Standard Walk – 45 minutes

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

