Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Round 2 – Day 26 – Strength Based Push Day

strengthpushdayGreetings, all.

I learned myself a nice lesson today. Last week I killed it on the Strength Based Push Day, setting two new PRs, but today I just wasn’t there on the bench. I think the reason being was that instead of my usual 8-12 hours of sleep, I only got 5. Also, I didn’t have a Muscle Milk shake before bed, which is loaded with all types of protein, some carbs, fats, and fiber. I think it loads up my muscles while I sleep. On top of that, I only had 20g of carbs before the workout instead of 40g. So, I really went into the workout under prepared, and saw how much it effected me.

Glad you guys have been digging the videos. If there’s anything you’d like me to cover in them, lemme know and I’ll be sure to.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 12oz of Gatorade with 20g of Whey Isolate and 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade with 1 scoop of BPI Best Aminos that contains CLA & Glutamine, 40g of Whey Isolate.

Flat Bench – 255×3, 275×1, 2, 255×3

I was hoping to snag 275 for a set of 3, which I’ve done once before, and I’d like to do again. So that’s one of your boy’s goals. On top of not getting enough sleep or loading properly, I didn’t warm up as well as usual. I jumped from 135lb to 225lb, then into my working sets. Usually I do 135, 185, then either jump to 210 or 225. Again, lesson learned.

Hammer Strength Decline Bench – 270×3, 360×3, 3, 3

I had to go machine because the decline bench at my gym sucks. Instead of the legs being held above the bench, they’re held below. Because of my short ass legs, it makes the lift insanely uncomfortable. I may have to try and work something out, because when I get heavy on HS, the lift can be uncomfortable in my shoulders.

Over-Head Press – 135×3, 145×3, 155×3, 3

It said to do Push Press here, but I hate those. I don’t like to lift fast with my shoulders, because I think that can cause problems. So, I simply stuck to the classic and did some pretty decent numbers after the heavy Flat & Decline.

Dips – bodyweight of 265×8, 5, 5, 5, 5

I could have done more at my body weight, but I simply made the reps slower, in order to make them harder. I couldn’t find the belt used to strap dumbbells around my waist, otherwise I think I could have added 30lbs or so.

Single-Arm Pressdown – 30×12, 12, 12, 12
SUPERSET WITH
Triceps Pressdown – 70×8, 8, 8, 8

I would work my left arm, then my right, then run over and do a set of double-arm pressdowns. I’ve never focused too much on my arms, because I had that early dogmatic belief of “Ah, don’t be a curl monkey, get those numbers up, anyone can curl!”. Which of course was stupid, but that’s what the fitness lifestyle is comprised heavily of, learning from your mistakes. Now I’m trying to build thicker, better looking arms, and working in bodybuilding style sets on my Strength Based days.

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn, 30 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

