Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Round 2 – Day 33 – Strength Based Push Day

strengthpushdayGreetings, all.

Today we’ve got some Push Day action going on, and your boy hit another PR, which, by my math makes me the strongest man alive. Sounds good to me.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 20oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade with a scoop of BPI Best Aminos that contain CLA and Glutamine, 40g of Whey Isolate

Flat Bench – 245×5, 5, 275×3, 245×5

New PR here. First off, the 245lb went up real easy. About 6 months I hit them for 3 sets of 5 on my way to my goal of 250lb for 3 sets of 5, and after all that, 245 was still rather heavy and I couldn’t nab it for 5 reps all the time like I thought I’d be able to. However now I feel like I could nab it for 6 to 7 reps, and I’m real happy about that. My major goal right now is to hit 275lb for a set of 5. I think I’m looking at about a month or so before that happens, so, wish me luck. It could be a hell of a lot longer.

Hammer Strength Decline Bench – 270×5, 290×5, 6, 5

I really like Decline Bench, and wish my gym had a proper one. Until that day though, you can’t go wrong with Hammer Smith. Make sure you get the level with the handles right though, because it’s not as cut & dry as Flat or Incline. I actually hurt myself once because things were off and I went too heavy.

Over Head Press – 135×5, 5, 140×5, 145×5

Still an all time favorite. Also one that I’ve only seen one or two other people do, and that’s a damn shame. My doctor told me I have the thickest shoulders he’s ever delt [no pun intended] with, and I think the primary reason is because of all the free-weight OHP that I do.

Machine Dips – 225×7, 250×7, 280×6, 6

Most dip machines have the handles that you grab like you’re doing bench dips with your hands behind your back. This machine is awesome, and has the handles on the side that you can dip as if you were using the Dip station. Normally I rock standard dips, but after all the heavy pressing, my wrists are worn out, and the dips put a ton of pressure on them. Plus, I just get an over-all better feel on the machine. However, I’m gonna have to find a way to attach weight, because I rep out the whole stack now.

Skullcrusher Machine – 60×12, 40×8, 30×8, 8, 8, 8, 8

This was done FST-7 style. Only 10 seconds of rest in between sets or so, and after each set I’d let my triceps stretch for a few seconds. This gives you a great pump, and really wears out the muscle. I was doing something just a few minutes ago that involved my triceps and I could feel weakness from the workout earlier. I’m trying to give my arms a bigger, thicker and more dense look, because I neglected training them hard for so long, and now I need to make up for lost time.

Incline Cardio – 10 minutes

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

