Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Round 2 – Day 36 – Hypertrophy Based Push Day

hypertrophypushdayGreetings, all.

I got nothing to say here in the preamble, so let’s get to the hot action.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with 2 scoops of Modern BCAA, Fruit Punch flavor. Now, lemme tell you, Gatorade Fruit Punch flavor and Modern BCAA Fruit Punch mixed together tastes like a freaking Sour Apple Jolly Rancher, I couldn’t believe it. Normally when I get BCAAs I strive to get flavorless, since I also drink Gatorade. I always figured that even though the flavors are of the same name, they’d taste like crap when mixed. Nope. Not only is this the supreme drink to have while working out, along with a shaker filled with either Hydro or Isolate protein, but it tastes amazing.

Incline Dumbbell Bench Press – 60×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

I know, the weight seems weak here, but I was stringent on my rest periods. Normally I rest 2-3 minutes with these, but this time I sat there with those suckers on my legs, just waiting. To make these even more intense, bring these together at the top. It really contracts the pecs, working the hell out of them. So, only getting 60 seconds of rest, doing a higher rep range than I’m use to really beat the shit outta my chest, which was awesome.

Machine Bench Press – 210×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

I was comparing this workout to the same exact one from January, and I blew this one the hell out of the water. My chest was so worn out I had to work with 150lb. Of course, machines are best when used sparingly, but can really help, as they put deep focus on the muscle. This machine in particular really helps hit the triceps and cause a nice contraction of the pecs.

Cable Flyes – 15×10, 20×10, 10, 10, 10

These weren’t part of the program, but it’s been a while since I’ve done flyes, and this workout seemed a bit short, so I wanted to add them. It felt great getting back into the swing of them. I always go machine & cables because when I use dumbbell, it seems to wreak havoc on my rotator cuffs for some reason.

Dumbbell Shoulder Press – 37.5×10, 10, 42.5×10, 10, 45×10

My shoulders were already damn tired from all that I’d done prior, and with the 60 second break, I couldn’t go rolling around the 50-60s like I prefer. I know, it’s not cool to not go HAM, but I don’t play around with safety when it comes to shoulders.

Barbell Front Raises – 30×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Over-Head Triceps Machine – 60×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

I absolutely love this machine. If you guys have one at your gym, I highly recommend using it. It’s the one where you’re laying on an incline style bench, then grab the two hands up by your head, and do a skull crusher. This machine keeps you locked in the groove, and puts a deep stretch on the muscle.

Single-Arm Triceps Rope Pulldown – 30×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Take a standard Triceps Rope, tie it in a knot at the top so you have just one side of the rope hanging. Grab that bad boy, tuck your elbow to the side, then pull downward until you feel that pinch in your triceps. For this, I simply keep swapping between arms until the sets are all done. It creates a hell of a pump, and really burns the muscles out.

Ab Chair Machine – 130×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Standard Walk – 1 hour

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

