Bodybuilding.com’s Project Mass – Round 2 – Day 39 – Strength Based Push Day

strengthpushdayGreetings, all.

Before we get down to the business of getting down, I’ve got a brand new article I was involved with over at 411mania. It’s a Top 5 movies list, and this week we talk about our favorite drug movies. The parameters we were given were illegal drug movies, so I couldn’t include Limitless, which would have definitely made the cut.

Top 5 Movies About Drugs

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profille of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

By the way, if you cats want to see a video on me making my pre & intra drinks, then you can find it here.

Flat Bench – 250×5, 5, 275×3, 225×5

My goal on the bench is to hit 275 for 5. I’m thinking it may take me about a month or so to get these last 2 reps, because these current 3 are mos def a workload, and take me to failure. So, I’m gonna keep at the numbers now until they move with some relative ease, then I’ll add 5lbs. Keeping the weight where I get the 5, but the 5th is usually failure can result in some slopping form, and really taxing the hell outta my CNS.

Hammer Strength Decline Press – 320×5, 5, 5, 5

I gave a shot at the normal Decline Bench, but just like before, I can’t get comfortable. The part that holds your legs is below you, so it can strain the hell outta you if you’ve got some stocky ass legs like me. The Decline Benches that hold your legs upward are so much more comfortable, I love those damn things. The Hammer Strength Decline is nice, but it’s hard to find the groove. If I can find it, and I’m super comfortable, then I can rock a lot of weight. If not, then it can hurt, and I’m not lifting shit.

Over Head Press – 135×5, 5, 140×5, 145×5

Some familiar numbers here with the OHP. Since it’s no longer the first move out of the gate, I can’t go as heavy as I use to. Like with Flat Bench, I’m sticking with the same weights for a few weeks until they become fairly easy, then I’ll move up.

Dip Machine – 280×6, 290×5, 5, 6

This is the machine where the handles are at your side, like you’re standing between two parallel bars. As opposed to the other one where the handles are like doing bench dips. I wish they had the weights that you could add to a weight-stack, because I’m having to stack weight plates on this thing now. I prefer to do machine dips because it’s a hell of a lot easier on my wrists. Especially after heavy bench and OHP.

Single Arm Cable Pressdown – 15×10, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 8, 10×8, 7.5×8, 5×8

The first 7 sets were done with only a 15 second rest period. After the 7th set I went into dropset mode.

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I had 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

