Caliber’s Powerbuilding Spectacular – Day 4 – Pull Day B

pulldaybhulkGreetings, all.

Lot of good things coming this way via Geeks Fitness, so do stay tuned. Not much to say other than that, so let’s get to the action.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8 I only rest 30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Bent Over Row – 125×5, 145×5, 160×10

I absolutely love the Bent Over Row. It works just about everything, and has you feeling like a beast. An absolute essential, and something you absolutely should not be without.

Hammer Strength Reverse Grip Pull-Downs – 120×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Man, I absolutely love this move, and feel it deep in my lats like nothing else. I use a complete range of motion, going as high as possible, and bring it down to my chest and squeeze my lats.

Sitting Cable Wide-Grip Rows – 90×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

With these I keep form tight. Sitting up right, back straight. I don’t lead forward, and squeeze real tight when I pull in. I used the attachment usually reserved for neutral grip lat pull-downs. Which made this more difficult than usual, but it was a much different feeling than close grip.

Dumbbell Row – 55×10, 10, 10

You definitely have to add these in to avoid imbalances, plus you get a better range of motion. I prefer to do them at an angle, leaning on the dumbbell rack.

Hammer Strength Preacher Curl – 45×10, 10, 10

If I could do only one bicep exercise, it’d be the Preacher Curl. It isolates them perfectly, and puts a great stretch into them at the bottom.

Barbell Curl – 40×10, 10, 50×15

Face Pull – 60×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

This was an FTS-7 set, which are a great tool for the end of a workout and want to burn out something.

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

