Caliber’s Powerbuilding Workout Spectacular – Day 8 – Leg Day 8

NightmareonLegDayAGreetings, all.

Thankfully I woke up this morning with my back feeling great. Got to the gym with zero issue. Just like I thought yesterday, it wasn’t a big deal, but, you never know.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8 I only rest 30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Squat – 170×3, 195×3, 220×7

I’m enjoying the hell outta this 5/3/1 training style on the heavy compounds. Starting a bit light really helps to build your confidence, and then doing as many reps as you can on the final set has had me doing rep PRs.

Cable Leg Press – 190×15, 15, 15, 15, 15

I’ve always read that higher reps are best for making legs grow, so, besides my heavy squats, I’m going to test that theory. What I did for the last set is after the 4th set, instead of getting out of the chair, I just kept myself extended by keeping my legs locked. I’ve heard this produces a great pump. So I sat there with my legs locked, basically a static hold, and then did my set, which was more difficult, and yeah, when I got up, I had a hell of a pump in the legs.

Sitting Leg Curl – 100×15, 15, 15, 15, 15

This gave me a hell of a burn, high up in the hams.

Standing Calf Raise – 150×10, 210×10, 185×10, 210xtf, 185xtf, 150xtf, 50xtf

the first 3 sets were done with as much range of motion as possible, and standard style. The ’till failure’ sets are all done back to back, like a drop set.

Side Bends – 25lbx15, 15

15 reps for each side. Side Bends are no joke, give these a shot. They don’t just work your obliques, but they also work your lower back. I love the hell out of’em.

Ab Chair – 90×15, 15, 15, 15

This is one of those ab chairs where you select the weight on a stack, and then grab some handles over head and crunch.

Cardio – 1 mile walk

Post Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

