Caliber’s 6 Day Powerbuilding Workout Routine – Day 12 – Push Day A

StrengthPushGreetings, all.

Before we get to the action, got a brand new Top 5 list for you, the beautiful people. As always, I hooked up with some friends at 411, and we talked about our Top 5 Stephen King films. Dig it.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8 I only rest 30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Flat Bench – 215×5, 245×3, 270×3

This is the heaviest week, as the lifting pattern is 5/3/1, with of course you snagging as many reps as you can on the last set.

Dumbbell Over-Head Press – 45×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

One of my all time favorites. Few things better than some OHP for 5 sets of 10, baby. If you guys have problems getting the heavier weights up, take a dumbbell and walk over to the squat rack. Rig it up so you can place each one about shoulder height, then when you’re ready to go, just grab’em.

Asst Dips – 54lbs off 265lb bodyweight x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

This is that machine that takes a bit of weight off you to help those who can’t do bodyweight dips or pull-ups. I can do bodyweight dips, just not full sets of 10. Plus, 265lb is harsh on my wrists. I consider these the squats for the upper body. I get such a great pump from doing these bad boys, and they help just about everything.

Incline Cable Fly – 20×10, 10, 10

Of all the Fly variations, this is easily my favorite. I just get a deeper contraction, a greater pump, and a better feel. The way to set these up is put the arms low, then move your arms upward, and touch at the top with a squeeze in your pecs.

Skull Crusher Triceps Machine – 60×10, 10, 10

Love this machine. At the end of the last couple reps, I do a static stretch. I hold the handles while my arms are contracted, and I feel a deep stretch in my triceps.

Single Arm Cable Triceps Extensions – 15×10, 10, 10

Sitting Dumbbell Lateral Raises – 15×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10xTF, 5xTF

The absolute best way to do these bad-boys. Do them on the end of a bench, not the small chair that supports your back. It works my delts & traps much deeper than standing. The final two sets were all done immediately after the one that preceded it.

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

