Caliber’s 6 Day Powerbuilding Workout Routine Spectacular – Day 18 – Push Day A

StrengthPushGreetings, all.

Not much to say here in the preamble, so let’s hop on the good foot, baby.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8 I only rest 30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Flat Bench – 135×5, 145×5, 170×5

The 4th week for each 5/3/1 cycle is a deload week, so you go light. However, I use this as a time to work on my speed and explosiveness, which is a crucial thing that needs to be trained. The weight was absolutely flying off of me, and I felt good about that.

Dumbbell Over-Head Press – 45×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

One of my all time favorites. Few things better than some OHP for 5 sets of 10, baby. This will burn you out good, and something I train hard and train often, which is why I’m pretty damn thick in my upperbody.

Asst Dips – 54lbs off 265lb bodyweight x 10, 10, 10, 10, 10

This is that machine that takes a bit of weight off you to help those who can’t do bodyweight dips or pull-ups. I can do bodyweight dips, just not full sets of 10. Plus, 265lb is harsh on my wrists. Often called the ‘upperbody squat’.

Incline Cable Fly – 20×10, 10, 10

Of all the Fly variations, this is easily my favorite. I just get a deeper contraction, a greater pump, and a better feel. I don’t use dumbbells because it hurts my rotator cuff, and instead use cables. I flex at the top of each rep to increase the pump.

Side Triceps Extension – 30×10, 10, 10

A friend of mine, who has really wide, great looking triceps, said he once learned from a natural, champion bodybuilder that this movement is the best for making your arms look wider from the front, because it works the outer triceps head. So, what you do is face the cable stack, and grab the handle with whatever hand, and then turn 45 degrees. Keep your elbows locked to the side, bring the handle up to around your pecs, and then extend down and squeeze. I kept going back and forth between arms, with an arm only getting rest when the other worked.

Sitting Dumbbell Lateral Raises – 15×10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10, 10,

The absolute best way to do these bad-boys. Do them on the end of a bench, not the small chair that supports your back. It works my delts & traps much deeper than standing. Also, I only rest for about 10-15 seconds between each set, forcing you to go through a hell of a lot of pain, but it’s sweet pain, baby.

Incline Cardio – 15 minutes

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

