Caliber’s 6 Day Powerbuilding Workout Routine Spectacular – Day 19 – Pull Day A

ArnoldPulldayAGreetings, all.

It’s Sunday, and that means beside the action adventure extravaganza that is the first Pull Day of the week, we take a trip to the Hall of Burly for the Man Movie Encyclopedia. This week, we take a look at the movie…..NAY, good sir, NAY, we take a look at the FILM, the EPIC, known as Over The Top. If you were to make a list of the 1,000 greatest films about arm-wrestling, this would mos def be number 1. Read it here.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re done at 50% of my max for the first month, the second month is 60%, and the 3rd and final month of the cycle is 70%, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8 I only rest 30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

Lat Pull Down – 105×5, 135×5, 165×5

This is my deload week, so the Lat Pulldown percentages were 40, 50, and 60% of my one rep max. I couldn’t exactly do a speed lift, so I just focused on the squeeze, and going slow with it.

Yates Rows – 135×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

I love these damn things. They’ve helped to give me very wide, and very thick lats. Not to mention I think they’re safer than standard Bent Over Rows.

T-Bar Rows – 75×10, 10, 10, 10, 10
SUPERSET WITH
Band Pull-Aparts – 5 sets of 8-12

Another personal favorite. A lot of guys you’ll see overload the bar, and end up doing a version where they’re standing and just yanking the weight up. That’s all well and good if you want to work your traps, but that’s not what these cats want. First off, I use 25lb plates, not 45s. I bend at the waist, around 45 degrees, and pull into my chest with a good squeeze. Also, I set the T-Bar on a stool of sorts, so I don’t have to lift off the ground for the initial rep, which can be hard on the lower back. And the Pull-Aparts are great for the upper back, and I’m real big on building that sucker up.

Hammer Strength Shrugs – 180×10, 10, 10

My favorite form of the shrug. I was holding the top contraction for 3 seconds, and then afterward I’d do as many fast reps as I could. The last two sets were pretty standard, and I’d find that if I looked downward, it worked my traps in a different, deeper way.

Straight Arm Pulldown – 40×10, 10, 10, 10, 10
SUPERSET WITH
Cable Rear Delt Flies – 10×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

There’s only two moves that isolate the lats, and that’s Dumbbell Pullovers and Straight Arm Pulldowns. I was jumping back and forth between these and didn’t stop until all 5 supersets were done. My back was insanely pumped. Give this a shot if you aren’t already doing the program.

Dumbbell Hammer Curls – 20×10, 10, 10
SUPERSET WITH
Flex Cable Curl – 30×10, 10, 10

I make sure to flex hard at the top of each rep and do a complete range of motion, and I only rest around 30 seconds between each superset. The biceps are so small, there’s no point sitting around, waiting forever to re-up, just burn them out. .

Standard Walk – 45 minutes.

Post Workout – 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

