Caliber’s 6 Day Powerbuilding Spectacular – Day 22 – Leg Day B

LEGDAYbGreetings, all.

It’s the dreaded Leg Day, the day that separates those who really want it and those who think they can do Chris Evans’ Captain America workout and look like him in 3 weeks.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8 I only rest 30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Rack Pulls – 135×5, 165×5, 205×5

These were done speed style, since it’s my deload week. I gotta say, this deload week has me chomping at the bit to get back to some heavy lifts, so that’s a plus to taking one, it really charges your batteries for another go around.

Squats – 115×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

These were done as absolutely deep as I could go. When I go heavy, I do box-squats, but when it’s bodybuilding style I use a full range of motion. Lemme tell ya, as a guy who’s 265lbs, and use to squatting low reps, this shit was blowing my cardiovascular system out of the water. Nothing makes you huff & puff like some full ROM, high-rep squats.

Back Extension – 10, 10, 10

My legs felt like rubber after all those squats, and that’s a great time to do Back Extensions. Besides working the lower back, they work the hell outta your hamstrings.

Farmers Walk – 70, 80

I would walk for about 30 seconds or so, or until my grip was about to give out. I love these because they work your entire body, especially your core, traps, forearm, and grip. You should absolutely give these badboys a shot if you haven’t already.

Weighted Ab Chair – 100×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Sprints – 4 rounds

I’m trying to really build up my cardio, so I’m doing some up-hill sprints on Leg Day. I do 4 rounds for now, and I’m building up to 5, and then more and more as time goes on. Up hill sprints are a freaking doosey. Do these after your workout, and you’ll never have to worry about gaining fat again.

Post-Workout: 1g of K-realkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 20gIsolate.

Leave a Reply

