Caliber’s 6-Day Powerbuilding Spectacular = Day 25 – Pull Day A

BANEPULLDAYGreetings, all.

It’s Sunday, baby, and that means we take a trip to the Hall of Burly to flip through the pages of the Man Movie Encyclopedia. This week we take a look at the movie that defines the word ‘underrated’, Showdown In Little Tokyo, starring uber-buff bad-ass Dolph Lundgren, and super-bad-ass as well, Brandon Lee. Go ahead and check that bad boy out right here. 

By the way, we’ve got our instagram going on, @geeksfitness. Images, memes, everything from all the members. Dig it.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re on a 3 month schedule. During the first month they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. The second month is 60% of your training max, and the 3rd month is 70%, then you start all over with your higher maxes, of course. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8-15 I only rest 15-30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Lat Pull Down – 145×5, 165×5, 185×14

5lbs up from last week, and still hit 14 reps, and think I could have maybe even done a few more. The first 8 reps were clean, strict form, and the others were done Arnold style, in which I put some body english on it in order to really over-tax the back.

Yates Row – 165×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

I absolutely love the Yates Rows. The extra 10% up last week was something I could feel. I wasn’t having to scream and break form to get the reps, but they did wear me out.

T-Bar Rows – 100×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

These are free-weight style, which I think is important to mix in with the chest supported kind. This type works your whole body damn near. After I was done, I completely understood why Wendler says that after the 5/3/1 lifts, and the accessory 5×10 work, that you don’t need to put much effort into the following exercises. Because after all that, my back was good and beat up.

Power-Clean – 95×3, 3, 3
SUPERSET WITH
Band Pull Apart – 3 sets of 8

Power Cleans have absolutely made a different in my traps and upper back. I keep the reps low, so that my form stays proper. The Band Pull Apart is a great thing to do for the rear delts and upper back. Love this combo.

Hammer Rope Curl – 40×15, 15, 10
SUPERSET WITH
Flex Curl – 30×10, 10, 10

Just chasing the burn and pump with these sets, and I got them in spades. The burn was insanely deep, as I was only resting 15 seconds or so between supersets.

Straight Arm Pull Down – 40×5 sets of close to failure
SUPERSET WITH
Rear Delt Cable Flies – 10×5 sets of close to failure

I just kept going back and forth between these exercises until the 5 sets were done.

45 minute walk

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I Have 30g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

