Caliber’s 6-Day Bodybuilding & Powerlifting Spectacular – Day 26 – Leg Day A

LegDayASpectacularGreetings, all.

Some news for you, Geek’s Fitness now has it’s own instagram, so go ahead and check that bad boy out over @geeksfitness, where I promise it’ll be updated at least once a day. Got a ton of new videos and such coming your way, so do stay tuned.

Alrighty, let’s get it.

Pre-Workout: 24oz of Gatorade, 20g of Whey Isolate, 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine.

Intra-Workout: 36oz of Gatorade mixed with a serving of Modern BCAA that has a profile of 8:1:1, and another shaker that contains 40g of Whey Isolate.

The first compound sets are done in the style of the 5/3/1 program, with the weight based on a percentage of my max lift. I usually rest 2-3 minutes when things get heavy. With the following compound hypertrophy based lifts, they’re on a 3 month schedule. During the first month they’re done at 50% of my max, and I rest at the absolute most 60 seconds. The second month is 60% of your training max, and the 3rd month is 70%, then you start all over with your higher maxes, of course. That much volume with such little rest gives you a great pump and wears you out pretty well. The following sets that are 3 sets of 8 I only rest 30 seconds for, and just look to burn things out.

Squats – 165×5, 190×5, 215×9

Ah, my old nemesis. I felt good though once I got warmed up, and I’m really gaining confidence in my squats.

Deadlifts – 135×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Last week I was only able to get 8 reps per set, so I’m really happy to see I was able to complete the full 10 here. I really enjoy deadlifts, as they work your cardio like damn near nothing else, and cause your body to dump out as much anabolic hormones as possible.

Leg Extension – 70×15, 15, 15

I went high rep here, because that’s always ideal for leg growth, and the rest periods were short, to really induce the pump. After heavy squats and 50 reps of deadlifts, my legs didn’t need much else, but a nice pump in the quads never hurts.

Bench Jumps – 3 sets of 5, at a bodyweight of 265, jumping about 2 feet in the air

Despite being a heavier cat, I can actually jump pretty damn high. However, this wasn’t about height, but about me implementing athletic aspects into my training, and wanting to train explosively. The jumps felt great, and I’m glad I’ve started doing them.

Ab Crunch Machine – 110×10, 10, 10, 10, 10

Incline Sprints – Again, in the vein of trying to add more speed, explosiveness, and train my cardio system, I’ve started doing incline sprints, which are a fucking killer. I do 5 rounds, jacking the incline up until it’s almost maxed out, then hit a pretty fast speed and keep it there for 20-30 seconds. Then I tame it down for a minute or two, catch my breath, and go again. It’s definitely not pleasant the first couple times you do them, but I’m really getting into the groove, and dig what they’re doing for me.

Post-Workout: 1g of Kre-Alkalyn Creatine, 20 minutes later I have 20g of Whey Isolate.

Leave a Reply

